My Shaw

Recyo Knight
Shaw University
Published in
3 min readDec 15, 2014

If it wasn’t for my grandfather, I wouldn’t have the faith and hope I have today. My grandpa taught me how to keep holding on when times get hard. My Shaw University is my family because I’m not only going to college for myself; I’m going for my people. Family makes you who you are good or bad. My family didn’t have the opportunity that I have today. So i’m here to be successful and stay focus.

As my grandfather would say, “without God you can’t do anything”. How can you not serve the one who wakes you up and start the new day, how can you not go through life without having faith in the Lord.

My mother is that mama that’s praying even when times are good. She has so much love and faith for her boys. She will legit get out her lovely comfort zone to come rescue her people. My mother and grandpa kept me in church growing up as a child, so when it comes down to that faith, my tank gets full.

As for my father, he’s that type of pops that show hard love, he will say something that’ll hurt your feelings but at the end you’ll realize what he said was real. My pops taught me how to be a man and face whatever life throws at you. He out in my head that the world doesn’t owe you anything, if you want something, you got to get off your butt and grind for it.

Unlike most of my homies, I’m fortunate to have both of my parents in the same house hold as me growing up. My parents are my motivation that pushes me to limits that I didn't even know was possible.

My actions, my ways, my personality, my style and my intelligence come from these three individuals. My brothers are my thoughts to my brains. My brothers opened my mind, and made me realize how valuable life really is, especially when you take the thing that has the most meaning and take it for granted. My brothers taught me how to not give up on what’s yours. If it’s really for you and you really want it, the only one that can stop you from reaching your goals is you. One of my major impacts are my brothers because of the fact that, they been through storms and wars, and they don’t want me to fall in that trap that they once got trap in.

Most people I grew up with and became close with through the years didn't have the opportunity that i have today. My Shaw is making out of the ghetto, my Shaw is being given the chance to be something most people dream about.

--

--