About me

Lil’ Crumbnut
Shayna Tanen
Published in
1 min readApr 28, 2015

Hey, I’m Shayna.

I’m 21 years old, and I study journalism at the University of Florida. I’ve been writing true stories since I was a kid.

And I think I have a knack for it.

I’ve always been fascinated with coming of age stories. In a way, these full-length features I’ve been writing, which are featured on this publication, are coming of age stories. They deal with one’s identity, and how people come into themselves personally and in our greater society.

But I like to write about lighter topics too. I love eating, making and writing about food, which I do on my other Medium page. When I graduate, I plan to go to culinary school to hone my creativity and learn more about food. Then, I’ll be able to do anything I want with food, including writing knowledgeably about it.

If I’m not off reporting somewhere, I’m waking up early in the AM, sipping coffee and reading Russian fairy tales.

“Life has a gap in it… It just does. You don’t go crazy trying to fill it like some lunatic.” — Take This Waltz (film, 2011)

--

--