Why Women Don’t Call The Cops On Their Abusers

They Are Not On Our Side

Jessica Smith
She Can’t Always Be Strong

--

Image by Free Photos from Pixabay

“Who are you going to call when you’re raped? Who will you call when you are being abused?”

I’ve been seeing this question asked a lot in response to the current Abolish The Police Movement.

Want to know my answer? Nobody. I won’t be calling anyone to help because there was no help given when I needed the police to protect me. They came, took a statement, and left me to be assaulted again. And again. And again.

So, no, I won’t be calling the police if I ever need them again. I am not the only one that has this mindset either.

Women Are Not Reporting Their Abusers

According to the Bureau Of Justice Statistics “Police were notified in more than half (56 percent) of the 1.3 million nonfatal domestic violence victimizations that occurred annually during the 10-year period from 2006 to 2015 in the United States.”

Just a little over half? That’s pretty telling if you ask me. These stats include rape or sexual assault, robbery and aggravated assault. Why didn’t these women call more often?

I can’t speak for them but I can speak for myself as a survivor of domestic abuse. This happened 10 years ago and it is all still fresh in my…

--

--

Jessica Smith
She Can’t Always Be Strong

Writer and mother. I write about whatever pops into my head. Relationships, Self, Mental Health, Parenting, Whatever. https://twitter.com/3282jessicah