Girls Rock: 3 Female Fronted Artists and Bands to Watch in 2020

Maggie Schneider
she/her
Published in
3 min readJan 15, 2020
Photo of RIVALS by Matt Bender

The year 2020 has arrived, which means the beginning of a new decade of music. In an industry dominated by men, The 2010s saw a great amount of growth for women in rock. We are living in an age of musical empowerment: a time where women are breaking down the walls of this genre and freeing themselves from the ubiquitous comparisons to Paramore and Evanescence.

These 3 acts were chosen based on their individual streaming numbers, critics’ reviews, fan interactions on social media, and their work’s individuality. Here are 3 unique female fronted artists and bands to watch out for this year:

  1. Stand Atlantic

Hailing from Sydney, Australia, Stand Atlantic is best known for their refreshingly lighthearted brand of pop-punk. Lead vocalist Bonnie Fraser is unapologetically herself, which shines through the band’s every music video, single, and social media post. It all started when Fraser went to see Avril Lavigne (her biggest musical inspiration as a tween) in concert.

“I was like, ‘Oh my god, she’s just like me!’” Fraser told Kerrang! Magazine. “After that I was like ‘Well what else can I do? I have to do this now.’”

The rest is history. The group signed to Hopeless Records in 2018, where they released their debut full-length Skinny Dipping, a collective of pop anthems and crowd-surf worthy singles about the importance of opening up.

“The songs that I was writing were like a constant battle between feeling things that make you feel so free and how with that freedom comes a lot of vulnerability,” Fraser explained to Rock Sound Magazine. “So from that I thought of skinny dipping.”

Maintaining the rowdy integrity of this scene’s music, there is an innate positivity to what this group is doing that is inspiring to music listeners everywhere.

2. Small Talks

Cayley Spivey, the sole member of Small Talks, describes herself as a “creator of all things.” She began her musical journey in her hometown of Myrtle Beach, S.C., performing her original songs at the local coffee shop. As her fanbase grew, Spivey’s desire to help others feel understood through her work grew as well. Her uniquely clean vocals pair perfectly with her intimate lyrics about love, loss, and moving forward. In her dazzling single “Teeth,” Spivey sings:

“And I can’t wash you off my skin / So I let you in / And how can I claim that love is a fleeting emotion / ’Cause I still dream of you / And sometimes I ask myself what I would do / If I saw you walk in the room”

Her debut record A Conversation Between Us is both romantic and relatable, having the potential to peak the interest of both indie and commercial pop music fans. The question is, where does the artist see herself?

“My goal is to transition from using Small Talks to using my own name when releasing music,” Spivey said. “I’d also really like to support more pop artists this year, and maybe hop on another full US tour. I miss the west coast.”

Cayley Spivey wants to give listeners the right words to say.

3. RIVALS

Dark pop-rock band RIVALS has been steadily climbing their way to the top since 2014, with their fearless mix of heavy riffs and Kalie Wolfe’s powerful vocals. Earning over 3 million streams on their debut album Damned Soul, there is a reason why the Spotify editorial team included multiple tracks on their “Fierce Femmes” and “New Noise” playlists. Looking back on the last 6 years, the band’s history looks like a big blur of touring, hopping on stacked lineups with notable bands such as Underoath, August Burns Red, and Red Jumpsuit Apparatus.

“For 2020, we got a new record coming out as well as lots of touring planned,” lead vocalist Kalie Wolfe said. There is an air of excitement surrounding the entire project, and their team is supportive of their growth.

“I’m just proud,” their manager Matt Vigliotti said. “There’s nothing else to say.”

The best word to describe RIVALS is dynamic — their performances, both onstage and in the studio, are undeniably passionate, paving the way for the new wave of emo pop/rock.

Through expressing vulnerability both on and offstage, these three acts are empowering listeners to find the strength to share who they are too. 2020 will be their year.

--

--