“They Said”: Meet the Summer Leaders

Women Employed
She Says
9 min readJun 27, 2024

--

For six weeks out of every summer, the Women Employed team grows as we welcome an impressive group of interns as part The Pattis Family Foundation Summer Leadership Program. The Summer Leadership Program provides college students with the opportunity to learn professional skills by exposing them to leadership training, front-line research, and awareness of the barriers low-paid workers experience. They also get a chance to learn the ins and outs of nonprofit work through workshops, guest speakers, and projects.

Our Summer Leaders bring with them a unique set of skills, enthusiasm, aspirations, and eagerness to learn. And this group is no different. From wanting to learn more about public policy to having dreams of entering the higher education field, the sky is the limit for them, and it brings us great joy to have a hand in helping to shape their bright futures.

In this month’s “She Says,” which we are calling “They Said,” meet this year’s class of Summer Leaders and learn fun facts about them, where they see themselves in five years, what they are proud of, and how they are going ALL IN.

Jessica Acevedo, University of Illinois in Chicago, Class of 2026, Major: English

Fun fact about yourself?

My favorite comfort food is my mom’s Arroz Con Habichuelas!

What do you hope to learn from this internship?

At Women Employed, I hope to further my knowledge about the ins and outs of non-profit work and how WE continues to make an impact for all women in the community while also addressing social issues. Additionally, I hope to learn about the strong connections held within the non-profit community and look forward to being intertwined in the tight-knit community at the end of my internship!

Isabella Barrios, University of Michigan Ann Arbor, Class of 2026, Major: Public Policy

Fun fact about yourself?

I have been consistently watching soccer since I was a young girl! (Love soccer.)

What do you hope to learn from the internship?

In the Pattis Family Foundation Summer Leadership Program with Women Employed, I am eager to learn how public policy can empower women in the workforce, particularly in Chicago. As a public policy major, I seek to understand how Women Employed works towards advocacy, policy analysis, and more regarding employment practices.

I hope to strengthen my skills in advocating for policies that promote fair wages, workplace flexibility, and other career advancement opportunities for women. By the end of this internship, I hope these skills will prepare me for what it takes to contribute to positive changes in my home neighborhood. Overall, though, I am excited to help WE work towards their mission, which is something that I am happy to be a part of.

Melissa Flores, University of Illinois in Chicago, Class of 2026, Major: Business Administration, Pre-Law

Fun fact about yourself?

A fun fact about me is that I speak four languages: English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.

What are you most proud of?

There are several things I am proud of, between completing my associate’s degree in a year and moving to a foreign country and studying abroad for a year. But I think the thing that I am most proud of is that when I was a senior in high school, I was co-President of a club called “Empowered Women of the Future.” I helped them secure and manage a sizable grant and promoted girl empowerment for the sake of bettering the future.

From a young age I was taught the value of a woman’s role through my mother’s hard work. But it was during my time as West Aurora student that I was able to grow and plant the roots that led me to become the woman I am today. These initiatives and responsibilities taught me that you are never too young to make a change and create a lasting impact.

Makeda Joy Hill, Xavier University of Louisiana, Class of 2025, Major: Sociology with a Concentration in Crime and Social Justice

Fun fact about yourself?

A unique fact about me is I’m a Singer and Musician.

Where do you see yourself in the next five years?

In the next five years, I see myself working in government as a victim advocate or within the juvenile court system. Alongside my professional career, I plan to engage in politics part time. On a personal note, I envision being married and either having a child or expecting one.

Daysia McDonald, New York University Class of 2025, Major: Biology

Fun fact about yourself?

I am on a dance company called Pulse Dance Project.

Where do you see yourself in the next five years?

In the next five years, my plan is to have graduated with my Doctor of Veterinary Medicine and be well in the beginning stages of starting my career. I hope to be in an environment and community surrounded by things and people that ensure I can fulfill my passions and creative pursuits, preferably in the Northeast. Veterinary school is my main priority right now so seeing past that is a bit hard, but I do know that I will always strive to be happy no matter where I am.

Jac Mizdrak, Columbia College Chicago, Class of 2025, Major: English

Fun fact about yourself?

I love coffee! I like to brew in my moka pot as part of my morning ritual, and I drink two or three cups a day just because I enjoy it.

What do you hope to learn from this internship?

This internship is so incredible to me because I have the opportunity to both learn about and work with financial security for women. Of course, I’m hoping to learn more about what these issues look like in our modern landscape, but I’m also hoping to learn about the work that goes into finding and addressing these issues. Something I’ve already learned in my short time here is that the WE team is excellent at finding and taking advantage of opportunities to further economic equity. I hope I can glean some of their expertise in identifying these areas of opportunity in order to enact change as quickly as possible.

Magnus Noble, University of Illinois — Springfield, Class of 2026, Major: Public and Nonprofit Administration

Fun fact about yourself?

I collect records and currently have more than 300 of them!

Where do you see yourself in the next five years?

I’ve never been good at planning more than six months to a year ahead, but after returning to school as an adult learner, I find myself planning ahead more and more. In five years, I hope to have finished a master’s program and at least started a doctoral program. I spent more than enough time without a formal education that I am strongly motivated to maintain my momentum.

I would like to be working in higher education administration, a non-governmental organization, or an international nonprofit abroad. Life has a funny way of working out in unexpected ways, however, so I’ve learned to just go with the flow and explore opportunities as they present themselves. I don’t know where I’ll be, but I promise it won’t be boring!

Yolenna Regmi, Loyola University Chicago, Class of 2025, Pre-Law track, double majoring in Criminal Justice and Criminology, and Political Science

Fun fact about yourself?

I am a member of LUC RAAG, Loyola’s Premiere South Asian Fusion Acapella Team.

What do you hope to learn from this internship?

I hope to learn what it takes to operate a career in the “real world” past college. I know that is what many internships are about but now that I am graduating next year, I really want to soak up all the knowledge I can from WE. I especially want to take advantage of all the connections they are providing with group lunches, meetings, and guest speakers.

I hope to gain enough contacts to feel confident entering the job field as a prospective full-time employee by this May and hopefully continue the great social justice work WE does for Chicago. Everyone at WE has emphasized networking so much and I plan to utilize that to the fullest!

Denali Roque, DePaul University, Class of 2026, Major: Public Relations and Advertising

Fun fact about yourself?

I have a three-year-old Dutch rabbit named Nala. (She looks like she has little brown trousers on!)

What are you most proud of?

I am most proud of my new ability to persevere. I came close to dropping out of college several times, but with the help of my on- and off-campus support systems, I feel I have gotten to a point where I’m ready to really move forward. My work ethic and rigor have improved immensely, especially coming out of the COVID-19 lockdown, which got in the way of my junior and senior years of high school and impacted my psyche in the worst way possible. I hope to never stray from the path I am on now!

Maria Jose Sierra, University of Texas at San Antonio, Class of 2023, Major: Global Affairs with a minor in Economics

Fun fact about yourself?

My dream career is to work in the UN as a part of the Economic and Social Council representing the U.S.

How are you going ALL IN on life?

I am going ALL IN by trying to push myself out of my comfort zone without the fear of failure. My first push was moving to the Chicago suburbs from Texas, without knowing a single person, in hopes of finding organizations and people to learn from. Thankfully it has worked so far because I found Women Employed and have been granted the opportunity to be a Summer Leader.

My next push is applying to get my master’s in International Relations as a Rangel Scholar in Washington DC. It has been nerve-racking and stressful, but to me, it wouldn’t be ALL IN if I didn’t feel that because it means that I am making an effort; therefore, that in itself is already a success.

Kennedi Strongs, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, Class of 2025

Fun fact about yourself?

I used to own a small jewelry business.

Where do you see yourself in the next five years?

In the next five years I see myself securing my Master of Social Work and gaining hands-on experience working in schools. As a school social worker, I would help alleviate any personal or academic burdens that children and their families experience. Additionally, I hope to pursue my License in Clinical Social Work afterwards to provide clinical services to communities of color.

— — — — — — — — — -

We’re grateful to Lisa and Mark Pattis of The Pattis Family Foundation for their partnership and generous contribution to our Summer Leadership Program for over 10 years, which makes this program possible! Thank you also to our newest Summer Leadership Program supporters Kathleen Flynn-Barnett of the Ora Kathleen Flynn-Barnett Family Foundation, and Mesirow Financial.

To learn more about the Pattis Family Summer Leadership Program, visit https://womenemployed.org/summer-leadership-program/.

--

--

Women Employed
She Says

WE relentlessly pursue equity for women in the workforce by effecting policy change, expanding access to education, & advocating for fair, inclusive workplaces.