Awesome Women in Philly: Job Hunting in the Time of COVID

She Steps Up
She Steps Up
Published in
9 min readJun 29, 2020
Photo by Brendan Church on Unsplash

Jasmine Omorogbe is a career consultant with over 13 years of experience assisting clients in crafting compelling resumes, cover letters, and application materials. She is passionate about seeing others achieve their goals and with her support, her clients have landed their dream jobs, earned admission into top universities, and have been able to use what they learned from Jasmine to help others do the same. Contact her on her site for a consultation: https://www.jasmineomo.com/

What are some ways we can rethink our job-hunting strategies during these times?

I think in uncertain times, people either voluntarily or unfortunately, involuntarily think about their career and assess whether the time is right to make a move. Individuals who have not searched for a job in a while may still think that sending out templated forms and resumes to any job that they may qualify for is what will land them their next position, and unfortunately, they are mistaken.

In rethinking your job search strategy, it is critical to do several things:

  • Reflect upon and assess your current knowledge, skills, and abilities. Gain clarity through reflecting on questions such as: What types of work responsibilities energize you? What do you want more or less of in your ideal role? What skills are critical to have in that role? How can you utilize informational interviews, courses, volunteer opportunities, etc. to fill the skills gap so that you are ready to serve in that position?
  • Especially in times of uncertainty, recognize that the search may take longer. You may need to broaden your horizons and be flexible in terms of: the sources you are using to search, the job location, salary, title, organization, industry, or even consider part-time or full-time entrepreneurship. Your next role may need to be a steppingstone that catapults you into the role you desire.
  • Lastly, recognize that sending resumes day after day is working harder, not smarter. Direct that energy toward meeting key people through informational interviews (20-minute strategic conversations where you connect with someone who is where you want to be (position, organization, industry, etc.) or who can help you get there). It doesn’t matter what you know, it matters who knows what you know and is willing to advocate for you. It’s so much easier to get into a space when someone opens the door from the inside!

If someone is currently unhappy at their job, should they look for a new one or ‘play it safe’ and stay?

I worked in higher education for my entire career before switching to education technology. During my time in higher ed, I am thankful for the connections made with my students, but I felt overworked, underpaid, and was not certain my work was having a significant impact. Through a chance email, a subsequent informational interview, and working through a few stepping stones, I was able to land the job I have now, which is a complete 180-degree switch in that I get to do things I love much more often in my role, I am valued and have a tangible impact, and my organization shows that through fair compensation and career progression. Had I stayed at my last position, I would have never known life as I do today. Being energized by one’s work makes a HUGE difference in one’s quality of life.

I would recommend that a person in this situation begin to search for a new position. I would suggest that they look inward to determine and pinpoint what is making them unhappy, that way they can carefully frame what type of positions they should look for, where and how they should search, questions to ask in the interview process, and what green or red flags to look out for. If this step is skipped, it’s likely they may change jobs, but end up unhappy once again. If they don’ start the search process at all, they won’t know what other opportunities exist — I think it’s always worth it to strategically think about what’s next.

What inspired you to start a consultancy helping people refine their skills and job hunts?

I started down the path of career consulting while in college when a mentor of mine hired me at my college’s career center. It was there that I learned the nuts and bolts of resumes, informational interviews, and all things career-related in between. Even after college, I noticed people would still come to me for help within that arena and it was having an impact — people were landing their dream jobs, getting into graduate programs, etc. and seeing that the assistance I offered was making a difference in the trajectory of their lives was fulfilling, especially when working with individuals from underrepresented groups who already face a significant set of barriers of access to various educational institutions and workspaces. I know that part of my purpose is to utilize my gifts and talents to uplift and help others achieve their educational and professional goals. Starting a consulting business, while still working full-time, was a way for me to impact the lives of others on a larger scale and to and to create an additional source of income, which would help me get closer to my personal goals related to building generational wealth for my family and me.

If someone was thinking about starting her own consultancy, what advice would you give her?

I would advise her to “do it afraid” and to utilize resources. I was doing career consulting for many years for free because I was not sure how to start a business or whether people would pay for my assistance. I was overthinking, taking baby steps, and holding myself back. However, once the COVID-19 era hit, I knew that people were losing jobs and really needed the information I had. That really pushed me to step up and begin offering virtual sessions and workshops, etc. I also found that there are so many resources and groups available to women entrepreneurs. Tasks that felt daunting to me, such as creating a website, were made super easy through modern technology. I would say to her that it’s easier than you think, you just have to start somewhere and build from there.

You also have a lot of experience working in higher ed! Any advice or words of wisdom for people looking to higher ed as a career path?

I worked in admissions, student affairs, and diversity and inclusion at several universities. I have a contentious relationship with higher education because like I did, many bright and energetic individuals go into the field desiring to make a difference and bring innovation to the way institutions do business. Often what I hear and what I personally experienced, is that the students are wonderful and the best part of the job. Depending on the type of institution, some administrators wear many hats and gain a lot of experience in a short time. However, the bureaucracy and antiquated way of working at some institutions becomes frustrating and stifling over time.

For anyone looking to go into higher ed, I would highly encourage them to ensure they are passionate about it, and to thoroughly research the types of institutions they want to work with and the types of roles that align with their skill set. Work culture is a big deal at colleges and the position titles do not always mean the same responsibilities from one institution to another. I would also recommend that they advocate for themselves within the administration and set boundaries. Especially if in student-facing roles, there are key questions to ask, such as: What time of night will I stop responding to student inquiries? Am I willing to work on weekends? Do I want to give students my personal social media handles?

I would encourage them to stay true to the reasons they wanted to join the field and find ways to achieve their professional goals, build their skills, and maximize their large or small-scale impact.

You’ve described yourself as a “multi-faceted Nigerian-American woman leader”; why do you think it’s important for women to describe themselves as more than one single identity?

In our society, the same ideals that make people feel proud to “not see color” are extrapolated to other aspects of identity. People want to be able to put others in neat boxes that fit with preconceived notions of what those boxes contain. However, putting women in one box, without taking into account the totality of their experience is a grave missed opportunity. For example, it means something to be a woman, it means something else to be Black, something else to be Black, but of Nigerian and American heritage, and even something else to behold all those elements being born and raised in Minnesota. To ignore any one of the identities that make me who I am is to take my fullness and frankly, the gifts I was given, for granted. As women, we must actively work to define ourselves, for ourselves, and advocate for and include all the identities that make us the brilliant and capable beings that we are.

What can someone do to her resume tomorrow to make it just a bit better?

The most significant thing a job seeker can do is to reframe her “Professional Experience” section. Many people simply copy and paste from past job descriptions and that is far less impressive than using that space to highlight actual accomplishments and her true impact in that position. I would encourage her to go through that section and first, remove any details that are not relevant to the specific position she is applying for. This section should be tailored to demonstrate alignment with the job qualifications. Second, I would recommend that she think through her experience and ask herself: Who did I help or work with? What exactly did I do? How did I do it? How can I demonstrate the scale of what I did? Why did it matter?

That last question is the most vital part. What were the results or the outcome of her doing a specific task or working on a particular project? That’s what employers find compelling and that’s what gets a person to be invited to an interview.

What media are you loving right now?

I really enjoy the Black Girl Mentor Podcast by Dr. Tiffany Wiggins because mentoring is extremely important to me and the podcast highlights the work of Black women guests who have done extraordinary things, but specifically asks them to discuss how they are creating pathways for the next generation of women leaders like themselves. Hearing the stories of women who reflect my background is particularly inspiring and each episode reminds me of the words of former First Lady Michelle Obama, “When you’ve worked hard, and done well, and walked through that doorway of opportunity, you do not slam it shut behind you. You reach back, and you give other folks the same chances that helped you succeed.”

I also love HBO’s television series, Insecure because the storyline and characters are relatable to me as thirty-something professionals just trying to figure life out. It’s a reminder that we are all just doing the best we can and there is always space to evolve and do better with the help of those we are connected to.

Any words of encouragement for people looking for a job now?

Especially right now, I would offer a few reminders to current job seekers.

  1. Employers are still hiring. Take time to research what industries are in demand right now. If those positions are not aligned with where you want to be, you can still utilize this time to gain clarity, build your skills, and create connections.
  2. Know that you have to start somewhere and if you want different results, new types of action may be required. You may need to “step out on a limb to get the fruit” and it’s worth it to give yourself the highest chance of living your best life, whatever that may mean to you. Start where you are!

Awesome Women in Philly is a semi-weekly Q&A series by She Steps Up, a Philadelphia, PA-based group aimed at empowering women, trans, and non-binary folks professionally and personally. Check out our website for events.

--

--