I Once Thought Coding Was Too Tasking And Uninstalled all my IDE’s — Oluwarotimi Akingbehin

Ada Nduka Oyom
Nur: The She Code Africa Blog
3 min readJun 13, 2018
Oluwarotimi Akingbehin

“I am Oluwarotimi Akingbehin, the Technology Associate at La Miam Caterers,, Finance Lead at Thrive Agric and also currently enrolled in the Google for Africa scholarship on the front end web development track and currently a member of Forloop Abuja

“I started coding back in school, i thought it was too tasking and uninstalled all my IDEs upon graduation. In line with that desire not to code I worked in a management consulting firm for over a year. Then I lost my job and I remembered something I could do, gladly I have since improved on the knowledge from school. Taking paid and free classes on front end web programming from Udacity, lynda and Coursera.”

“Right now I am comfortable with its pecks, from HTML, CSS to JavaScript. I am also learning some UI and UX designs. Deana Anglin happens to be my role model, I choose her as a role model because of her vast knowledge of human computer interaction. I find that very fascinating and admirable and I have always loved that aspect of I.T, seeing her doing Design Thinking sprints has made me read up so much and learn tremendously on that topic. I think I can give a talk on it now.”

“The Lowest point so far since I started my journey into tech was when I failed a programming course in school because I was more fixated on the algorithm rather than understanding the problem and finding the right solution but then My moments worth celebrating would be the latest course I’m currently taking on Udacity, where I call on someone to help me but before they come I already have it solved i.e the problem, like debugged and moved to another lesson. It is always fulfilling!”

“I am currently building a catering website for my mum, it would be my first website to go live. I am very proud of this as I would be helping her business grow and raise more revenue. In the next five years, I see myself going further into I.o.T, it has to be the Internet of Things (I.o.T) because it suits my style and I am very competent and comfortable with it. Machine Learning could be my second favorite as I am intrigued with patterns and numbers and maths is the basics for it.”

“Changing anything in the tech industry, would be the use of more templates to build applications, webpage, systems and what have you, to save time. Do more courses on the use of already built templates after learning the basics of course. As you can't learn sentences without first learning the alphabets.I hope someday soon, we will all look back and say we were indeed good forerunners of technology in Nigeria, in Africa. And the technologies we build will help grow our economy, improve social lives and help increase cyber and physical security. I hope we get this one thing right in our time.”

“My take home advice for fellow female developers/designers and women in tech is that asides the many stereotypes we might face as we advance in our career, we should always think about the many young women all over the globe from India to Pakistan to Nigeria to Kenya who look up to us and aspire to be developers/designers some day. If we ever lack the courage to write a line of code or make a sketch some day, just look back and see us all cheering you along. Being Women in tech isn’t a competition but a collaboration for a stronger goal.”

Facebook: Rotimi Akingbehin

Twitter : @Talk2teame

Instagram: Talk2teame

--

--

Ada Nduka Oyom
Nur: The She Code Africa Blog

Software Developer | Developer Relations and community Expert | DEI Consultant