I started learning Front End Development to develop great UI/UX - Chidinma Nwogbo

Ada Nduka Oyom
Nur: The She Code Africa Blog
3 min readJun 27, 2018

“I got about exposed to computers at a little age when my dad got his first laptop. My dad is my role model, I was fascinated, learning to type using Mavis Beacon. I learnt about computer viruses and decided I want to learn how to make them. This fascination led me to study Computer Science in Afe Babalola University where I graduated in 2016.”

“I’m Chidinma Nwogbo, a User Interface/User eXperience Designer and Front-End Developer”

“Since graduation, I have been actively involved in the Nigerian technology space. I have worked with a Network of Incubators & Innovators, where I source and connect startups in the technology space with VC’s. One of such projects is the VivaTech fund for African startups where I helped get funding for a couple of Nigerian startups.”

“The tech community in Abuja is Vibrant! I am a Forloop Africa organizer here in Abuja and also a member of Wecode, Abuja Chapter. I currently work at a Fintech Startup here in Abuja where we are building awesome web and mobile applications, set to launch in July. I function as a Web/Mobile UI/UX Designer and also currently enrolled in the ALCwithGoogle Udacity Scholarship program where I am improving my skills as a Front End Developer.”

“ I usually find it unpleasing when I visit websites with poor UI/UX, so I started learning Front End(FE) Development to be able to develop really nice UI/UX. I realized though that before FE Development, a Design has to be made, thus my foray into UI/UX Design.”

“I started FE Development in 2016 and learnt the basics of HTML and CSS. I wasn’t actively coding for a while after I started, then I started designing in January this year, found out I had a knack for it and have since landed my first Design Job. I am currently learning JavaScript from the ALCwithGoogle program, I currently do FE Development with HTML and CSS”

“I haven’t had any issues that has made me think of quitting so far but landing my first job as a UI/UX Designer has been my highest point so far in my journey. I am currently designing an awesome platform at work I can’t talk about yet (because of those NDAs), You’ll get to see it in a few months. Anyways, I have cool stuff on dribble. Check me out here.”

“Changing anything in the Tech Industry would be to correct the false perception that Technology is difficult, takes blood, sweat, and tears to learn, and encourage more people to get involved. In the next 5 years, I see myself working as a Senior UI/UX Developer and Product designer in an organisation, building products to impact lives with technology.”

“My take home advice for other women in tech : Its okay to try new things and technologies, don’t get stuck in one job role if it isn’t working for you. You may just find your fit in another role.”

Twitter: @aaffable_

Dribble: chidsss

Web presence: chidsss.github.io

--

--

Ada Nduka Oyom
Nur: The She Code Africa Blog

Software Developer | Developer Relations and community Expert | DEI Consultant