I went from a Tech Newbie to Graduating amongst Top 100 In The HNG Internship — Olibie Chidera

She Code Africa - Admin
Nur: The She Code Africa Blog
2 min readJul 10, 2018
Chidera Olibie

“I was convinced to start coding in 2016 by my friend, Maduabuchi Chinechetam, although I wasn’t focused due to academic pursuits and doubts.”

“However, I got engaged in the HNG Internship that started August, 2017 which motivated me to be fully involved. There I learnt how to do Front-End web development using HTML, CSS and JavaScript. Graduating from the HNG Internship as one of the top 100 out of thousands of interns has been my highest point so far in my journey.

“My name’s Olibie Chidera, a student of Nnamdi Azikiwe University and also intern at Genesys Tech Hub, Enugu where i’m currently learning back-end development using NodeJS. The tech community in my school is partly active, there are meetups being held at Devamplify Hub which students from my school attend. I help in broadcasting these meetups and occasionally speak at them when I am chanced.”

“In the next five years, would love to go into IoT and Virtual Reality because, for IoT, the idea of interacting with appliances excites me and Virtual Reality also has exciting prospects. If i were to change anything in the tech Industry, I would create a platform where aspiring developers can log in and be assigned mentors according to their interests for guidance.”

“In the nearest future, I hope to see technology bring development to Africa and transparency in governance. To my fellow female developers/designers and women in tech: Imposter syndrome happens to lot of people, so whatever you do and whatever you feel, just know that you’re making great impact in the world.

Twitter: @dera_jo

Github: je-ni

LinkedIn: Chidera Olibie

--

--