SCA Spotlight ft Ugochi Ukpai

Lulu Nwenyi
Nur: The She Code Africa Blog
3 min readJun 30, 2021

At SheCodeAfrica, one of the things we love to do is celebrate women. When community members do amazing things for the community, they ought to be celebrated.

On today’s spotlight feature, we have Ugochi Ukpai, who recently published her new book focused on JavaScript for newbies. So, we had her tell her success story:

Q: Who is Ugochi?

A: My name is Ukpai Ugochi, I am a Nigerian with a Bachelor’s degree in Marine Engineering. I’m a Rust developer and a fullstack JavaScript developer on the MEVN stack. I love to share knowledge about my transition from marine engineering to software development in the form of writing, to encourage people who love software development and don’t know where to begin.

Q: When did you become a member of SheCodeAfrica?

A: I became a member of the community in August 2020.

Q: Your book is focused on JavaScript for newbies and kids. What was the inspiration behind it?

A: Well, it doesn’t matter how we argue about it, “catch them young” works always. If we’re able to introduce kids to tech when they’re younger, I don’t see a reason why they won’t run with it. So, why not introduce it to them and let them make a choice?

Q: What is the title of your book?

A: The title is JavaScript for 10 year olds. The reason for the title is because the book is self explanatory that a 10 year old can comprehend it’s content on their own.

Q: You dedicated the book to She Code Africa. We’d love to know why.

A: I participated as a mentee in the third cohort of SCA mentoring program. Even though my mentor tried his best to suggest materials for us, we still needed a structured curriculum. So, I wanted to create a curriculum that ladies can fallback to when they join the next cohort of mentoring program.

Q: How long did it take you to write this book and what issues did you encounter?

A: It took me a few months of procrastination. I procrastinated a lot. Since I was freelancing, I had to stop the book for a while whenever a client wanted a job done urgently.

Q: What do you aim to achieve with your book?

A: I wish to pass knowledge by creating a beginner friendly material for newbies.

Q: We’d like to know something random about you.

A: I’m an indoor person so remote working is a great fit for me.

Q: What advice do you have for newbies in the tech community?

A: Read about concepts you don’t understand, ask questions and build projects with knowledge/tech skills you acquire.

Conclusion

Ugochi has contributed to the community positively in less than a year of membership. At She Code Africa, helping women grow is our aim and we’re glad to have more members contributing to this.

Find Ugochi on Twitter or LinkedIn.

You can download the book here and if you are not a member of the community, join us : SheCodeAfrica/Signup.

--

--