The Journey Begins: SCA Mentorship Program

Omolola Omolambe
Nur: The She Code Africa Blog
2 min readJul 3, 2020

On the 29th of May 2020, I was elated when i got the mail congratulating me on being selected for the Node-Express Track of the SheCode Africa Mentorship Program. I knew i was in for a great learning experience and good guidance.

About S C A

She Code Africa is a non-profit organisation focused on celebrating and empowering young girls and women in technology across Africa.

Month One

Lool 😓

Prior to this, I thought I was some what proficient in JavaScript but after being exposed to the resources provided, I learnt that there was more to learn. I spent the first month going back to the basics of JavaScript and practising. I majorly used a book which helped break programming concepts down, making it easy to understand along with practice questions and solutions. This is the link if you want to look it up Eloquent JavaScript. Google was also a constant help.

A soft skill training on Time Management was provided during the SCA Monthly Program Call for Mentees . This was helpful to me at the time because it helped me organise myself better, prioritise wisely and take breaks.

To wrap up the learning path for the month, I took and completed the 10 days of JavaScript challenge on HackerRank.

10 days of JavaScript Challenge, Yay!!

I am still at the beginning of the journey but it has been an amazing experience so far. My mentor, Idris, has been a good guide and my co-mentee, Praise has been of help too. I have learnt a lot and the resources provided have been insightful. I look forward to the remaining two months of a great learning experience.

Thank you SCA!.

--

--