“Videos of Girls Coding sparked my Interest”— Lydia Ezeakor

Nnubia Ogbuefi
Nur: The She Code Africa Blog
2 min readMay 24, 2019

Meet Lydia Ezeakor! A 400 Level Economics Student at the University of Nigeria and a lady of many Hats. In the small town of Nsukka, Lydia has been at the forefront of the UNN Tech Community. Aside from her school work, one of her extracurricular activity is building the campus tech community by involving more ladies in tech. She is a Contributor, an Ingressive Campus Ambassador, a Builder in the UNN Tech Community, a UI/UX Enthusiast and a Python Developer.

Lydia Ezeakor

“I am currently expanding my skill set in software development and design by learning Python for Data Science and UI/UX design with Figma.”

“I was introduced to Tech by a friend in 2016/2017 when I was in 200 Level. A friend of mine literally just called me up, sat me in front of a Laptop and showed me online videos about girls coding for an innovation challenge, I think it is a Hackathon and asked if I would be interested in learning?”

“Those videos were the sparks I needed to venture into software development. My only motivation is Digitization. My ability to solve the problems we face every day with Tech is the most brilliant opportunity I can be grateful for.”

“Thereafter, I knew I needed to make an impact in the Tech community. I think to me, the most impact I have made is to encourage other girls to begin learning any aspect of tech or design they like.”

“True impact in tech for me is encouraging other girls and ladies to be more involved in tech.”

GitHub: @lydiaezeakor

Twitter: @lydiaezeakor

Instagram: @lydiaezeakor

--

--