In Praise of UCAS Clearing

Reena Staves
Sheffield Students
Published in
3 min readAug 16, 2017

A-Level results day was the best, but also the worst day of my life. Despite getting far better grades than I ever thought I could, I still went through UCAS Clearing to gain a place at Sheffield University. There’s so many myths and stereotypes surrounding Clearing, but I wanted to share my own experience of using the process way back in 2014 in the hope of dispelling some of those :)

*

Tears of happiness! Results day memories :)

Three years ago, I was one of thousands of students nervously waiting to receive their A-Level results and to know whether I’d secured a place to study at the university of my dreams. The day arrived; I got better grades than I ever anticipated I would and did indeed secure a place at Newcastle University. Amazing news! Right? Hmm. Not quite…For some reason, and I couldn’t quite understand it myself, I just felt like I was making the wrong choice and that studying at Newcastle wasn’t what I wanted to do at all. My insurance choice, Sheffield Hallam, wasn’t where my heart was at either. So rather than celebrating, I felt confused and didn’t really know what to do.

Deciding to withdraw my place at Newcastle University was probably one of the most difficult decisions of my life. I’d spent months, like most of my friends, researching, perfecting my UCAS statement, narrowing my choices down to five (Only to be heartbroken that I didn’t get into Edinburgh. Their loss.) So for me to be feeling so apprehensive about not wanting to go to Newcastle University this late on just seemed bizarre. I tried to ignore this niggling feeling of unease by putting it down to nerves: the prospect of leaving home, meeting new people, living in a different city. But it wasn’t about me getting cold feet at all — I knew I couldn’t do it and made the right decision to withdraw.

It was at this point that UCAS Clearing really helped by giving me another opportunity to pursue my love for English Language and Literature at an institution I felt more at home: Sheffield University.

I accessed Clearing quite late on, but I still managed to go through the process easily and with lots of support. Naturally, the later you leave it, the fewer places institutions will have available, so if Clearing is an option you’re considering, I would begin browsing the vacancies available in Clearing now. The first thing I did once I’d withdrawn my place at Newcastle was contact the admissions line within the School of English at Sheffield. The person I spoke to on the phone was so so supportive and understanding. I had a mini interview, with them ensuring I’d met the entry requirements of the course I wanted to enrol on. They then talked me through all the necessary changes I’d need to make on various forms, bits of information I’d need to send. It wasn’t half as bad as I was expecting. A week later I found myself registering at Goodwin and picking my first-year modules! Phew.

*

Going through Clearing is nothing to be ashamed of. If I hadn’t gone through Clearing to gain my place at Sheffield I wouldn’t have made some of my most precious memories, met some of my best friends or be here as your Welfare Officer. Clearing is not just for those who haven’t received the grades they needed. Think of clearing as a wonderful opportunity to explore and broaden your options. My mum described A-Levels to me as a kind of ‘passport’. Like any qualification, or piece of experience, they open doors for you — don’t be disheartened if you don’t get the grades you were expecting.

You still have lots of time. Get your results as early as you can, have key phone numbers with you, a copy of your personal statement at hand and all the necessary ID information.

Most of all, and I know this is easier said than done, try not to worry. You’ll get through it ok :) We’re here if you need any help.

Reena x

*

Think you might want to consider studying at Sheffield? Register for Clearing and Adjustment at The University of Sheffield. Our Clearing and Adjustment Helpline opens at 7.30am on Thursday 17 August: 0114 222 8015

--

--

Reena Staves
Sheffield Students

2017/18 Welfare Officer — Sheffield Students’ Union.