Booting Into Single User Mode In Solaris 11 For Resetting Password And Other Administrative Tasks

Shehu Awwal
Shehu Awwal
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2020

I have been using Solaris 11 for a while for my personal learning, After some time I decided to go back to my Solaris, I forgot the password. I tried all the password I used, I couldn’t remember anything.

We see GNU Grub, Which is something I was happy about to see in a proprietary operating system.

Steps In Booting Into Single User Mode

  • Power On The VM/Machine, Take a look at the picture, And Press e on your keyboard to edit the grub config.
    Note: Make sure you’re on the current kernel you want to boot into.
    Take a look at the picture below and see the one.
  • After doing that, You will be presented with different options and use your arrow key down to navigate to the line starting with kernel$ and press e on your keyboard.
  • As you can see from the screenshot above. Now you will be presented with the config, Add -s to the end of the line, Yours might be different but make sure -s is added to the end of the line.
  • Once you add -s to the end of the line, Press b on your keyboard to boot into the single usermode.
  • Enter the new password, After that press enter, You will be in a shell.
  • You can do other things you want or simply type: reboot
  • That’s all.

--

--

Shehu Awwal
Shehu Awwal

Hacker — Passionate About InfoSec, Linux, Clouds, Containers, Virtualization, Distributed Systems And Architectures And New Trends.