Jessy Kanu
SHEISEVE
Published in
2 min readJan 6, 2018

--

Let me tell you who I really am

Ephesians 1: 11- “It’s in Christ that we find out who we are and what we are living for. Long before we first heard of Christ and got our hopes up, he had his eye on us, had designs on us for glorious living, part of the overall purpose he is working out in everything and everyone.”

Most times when people are asked about themselves they start by talking about what they do for work or their academic achievements. For a long time I was that person. I would dash off talking about my academic achievements then end with job role. The sad thing is I would end with a huge “I’m sure you’re impressed” kind of smile. In retrospect I must have bored most of them out of their minds or left them with no great impression of me at all.

Now, this is in no way to demean or undermine the hard work put into acquiring an education or the effort put into work. However, take away my academic degrees; lets say it was all burnt up in a fire accident, or that I lost my job, where would I then tie my identity? The truth still remains, I am much more than a degree, job or skill. I am an expression of God. I am a work of God’s art, I am not limited edition, I am the only edition.

Ephesians 1:11 says, long before we heard of Christ he had an eye on us and designed us for a glorious living. My hope is in Christ and in what he has deposited in me to bless the world. What is it I have been called to do? Your identity is not tied to the amount of money you have. Money is good, however, your knowledge of who you are will enable you create wealth even when you loose it. It will help you get back up when you fall.

Christ has called you to be powerful, he has called you to be great, he has called you to a glorious destiny. He has called you to be bold; he has called you to love. Once you get in touch with who you are through his eyes, you begin to see the real you and walk in the path of greatness and joy.

--

--

Jessy Kanu
SHEISEVE

I believe that with the power of Jesus Christ and a renewed mind, anything is possible.