4 Things People Say to You When You’re a 20-Something Dealing With Chronic Pain

“You don’t look like you’re in pain. You’re just candy-seeking prescription opioids.”

Agents of Change
Shelter Me

--

Photo credit: Shutterstock

By Amanda Vining

I am 28-years-old. Ten years ago, when I was 18, I was diagnosed with Degenerative Disc Disease (DDD) and multiple herniated, bulging, and ruptured discs in my lumbar and sacral spine. My injury was a result of years of competitive gymnastics and diving, a culmination of impact, compression, and working my body beyond signs of exhaustion. My dream was to land on the Olympic podium; instead, I landed in pain management. My injury is most prevalent in older patients, so I am an anomaly at my age. No matter how many conversations I hold with fellow patients in various waiting rooms, with strangers in public, or even with extended family members and distant acquaintances, there are some questions that arise time and time again. Here are some of the most common questions I’ve received as a 20-something dealing with chronic pain:

“Your injury was ten years ago, so you should be fine now.”

Yes, my initial injury was ten years ago. Believe me, I know! The past ten years haven’t been easy. Doctors appointments, surgeries, physical therapy, bedrest…

--

--

Agents of Change
Shelter Me

A collaborative effort between “agents of change,” Good Men Media, Inc. and Connection Victory Publishing Company. AgentsOfChange@ConnectionVictory.com