Notes for “From weekend AR demo to release on ProductHunt”

Shengzhi WU
Shengzhi’s MDes Thesis
1 min readOct 25, 2018

In this article, the author provides a way to help the calligraphy easier by overlapping a semi-transparent layer on top of it. It gives the user a strong positive feedback loop, in which they are able to compare their writing to the examples, and calibrate their own hand writing in real time.

I think using AR as an instruction, guidelines with another layers is definitely helpful. I especially resonate with the concept of positive feedback loop in this use case, and thinking something like this would facilitate the perception of affordances as well.

--

--

Shengzhi WU
Shengzhi’s MDes Thesis

I am a UX designer, an artist, and a creative coder. I am currently pursuing my master degree @ CMU, and interning @Google Daydream.