Changes coming to the Shepherd Journal

Jon Morgan
Shepherd Community Blog
4 min readDec 13, 2015

--

Three months ago, I was given the opportunity to write for a new independent newspaper, the Central Michigan Pulse. Given the choice, it seemed like a no-brainer that whatever I wrote should be about the Shepherd community. This seemed like a strong choice to the newspaper’s publisher, Steve Covieo, so I began writing a weekly column which was called Shepherd Digest.

There aren’t words to express how excited I was to be writing for a newspaper. It was hard work, sometimes stressful with the deadlines, but it was something that I enjoyed.

A new opportunity presented itself when The Pulse switched to an all-digital format. When Steve told me about the change, I said that I’d like to continue to send him news stories about Shepherd. Only, now instead of a column I’m hoping to report on a wide range of different news stories.

Last week, two pages ran under the header Shepherd Journal for the first time inside the Pulse. I’m hoping to continue to pass stories along which help to represent the Shepherd Community, but I need your help.

How You Can Contribute

If you are a part of an organization or business that has news to share, please consider passing it along to me so that I can submit it to The Pulse and post it on the Shepherd Journal Facebook page. There are a number of ways in which you can share information:

  1. Email. You can send your story, news tip, proposal, or inquiry to shepherddigest@gmail.com. I’ll respond back and work with you to figure out what the message should be, and different ways in which we can reach your audience.
  2. Post in the Community Blog. What is the Community Blog? It is a publication I’ve started on Medium so that there is a place for news and stories from the community. If you know what you want to say, you can simply write or paste it into a post on Medium, publish it, and then submit it to the publication Shepherd Community Blog by adding the tag @morga2ja at the bottom. I’ll review and post it in the blog, then publish it in the Pulse and on the Shepherd Journal Facebook page.
  3. Join the Shepherd Journal writing team. Okay, truthfully there isn’t a team yet, but there is a group on Facebook I’ve turned to from time to time for help. Now that I am publishing articles on Medium, it will be super easy for writers, editors, and photographers to contribute. Join by requesting to join the Shepherd Journal News Team on Facebook or contacting me via email.
  4. Submit a news tip via the online form. The form is there to help contributors organize their information.

How You Can Contribute, Part 2

I recently discovered a podcast called Song Exploder. On Song Exploder, the hosts talk to composers about why they composed a song a certain way. It is a good way to learn more about the thought process behind a given song.

I mention this podcast, because this concept is very similar to what I want to do with all of the great information that’s shared via Facebook by members of the Shepherd community. Instead of Song Exploder, think Post Exploder. I want to go beneath the surface of the things that people post online. This includes not only learning more about a certain event, but also following up later to see how things went.

I believe that this can be achieved through constant dialogue, and there is no better place to start than the information that’s already being shared. So, I’m experimenting with what I called the Shepherd Live Journal. I’ve basically collected posts about the Village of Shepherd and then added my own questions in the hopes of promoting some conversation. Anybody can add information if they are in the know, or they can ask questions if they have any. Then I’ll summarize any new insight that’s gained into a follow up article.

I’m hoping that this will help to inform readers, but also give community members the chance to interact with the information.

I think that the Shepherd Journal’s main purpose will always be to inform readers. But, as a side benefit it can also initiate constructive and positive conversations.

And, one final way in which you can contribute is by supporting the Shepherd Journal by following its news online and in The Pulse, and sending in your feedback.

Thank You

I wanted to thank everyone for supporting The Shepherd Journal either by following the page on Facebook, or posting updates and comments. When I started the page roughly six years ago, I had no idea that it would last for so long or grow into what it is today. I’m excited to take it into new directions, and hope that others will join me.

Respond to this article either via Medium, or via the Quip document here.

Originally published at docs.google.com.

--

--

Jon Morgan
Shepherd Community Blog

I’m excited about the opportunities which are presented to us by the Internet and Technology. I am researching different ways in which content can be delivered.