Finding the musical accompaniment for elevators

Ciara Rafter
Sheridan Lifts
Published in
3 min readAug 24, 2016

In continuation from last week’s article, I am still very much fascinated by the concept of musak and the way in which music can affect us all in drastic, unexpected and unknown ways. The experiment in discussion, Really Good Elevator Music, challenged the concept and expectations of musak by changing it from dull, soulless, background music to music full of life and soul.

The aim of the experiment was to encourage human communication as opposed to the traditional intention of elevator music, dating back to the 1930's, which was to manipulate customers by relaxing them and in turn, boosting the sales of large retail companies.

Elevator music is not an easy thing to get right. There are too many factors and opinions to keep every single person who enters the elevator happy. Mainstream music is heard enough on the radio, and so it is most definitely not needed in an elevator, most music with vocals is distracting and only encourages karaoke-like singing, which does not encourage the kind of communication the Really Good Elevator Music experiment, or I, are aiming for.

What I am striving for is something calm enough to be considered appropriate for elevators, but dynamic and moving enough for passengers to notice and for it to impact their day. After spending plenty of time thinking about the perfect music to accompany me in elevators, I at last found what I had been looking for.

Theodore Shapiro. He is an American composer best known for his film scores for films such as Marley and Me, The Devil Wears Prada, and 13 Going on 30. He first blew my mind when I watched the 2013 film, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, and all the times I have watched it since - solely for the music. Clean, delicate, serene sounds are made into masterpieces by Shapiro. I listen to this soundtrack whenever I have too many thoughts, too little thoughts, when I need to just get up and start living, and to soothe me from the chaos of everyday life. I have always thought that this soundtrack would work perfectly in an elevator; not too dramatic or attention-seeking, no vocals to embarrass myself by accidentally singing along, and euphoric instrumentals which have the perfect balance of uplifting and calming.

I dabbled in choosing music based on influences from Really Good Elevator Music, which made me think exclusively of funk. As much as I love this genre, I am aware that it is not for everyone, and is therefore a risky choice of elevator music. Shapiro’s music, however, offers something that everybody can appreciate, even if only for the 20 seconds of an elevator ride. See what you think and take a listen to his soundtrack for The Secret Life of Walter Mitty here: www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHmCjFsznSY

This article was brought to you by Sheridan Lifts. If you enjoyed this read, please give us a click on the 💜 below to recommend it to others.

--

--

Ciara Rafter
Sheridan Lifts

Trying not to miss anything whilst also wanting to write everything, but definitely writing something. www.thisistherafting.com