I didn’t need it, but I bought it anyways. Did that ever happen to you?

Sherwette Mansour
Sherwette
Published in
2 min readApr 26, 2016

Of course it did.

Having shoes is necessary, but how many of them?

We need shoes. Don’t we?

Ideally one should have a formal shoes, a casual shoes, a workout shoes and slippers.

But then ask a girl, any girl, how many pairs of shoes do you own? She would stand still, stumbling, unable to answer, simply because she doesn’t know. She has so many of them, that she wouldn’t be able recall.

Lucy had a tough day at work. She didn’t want to go back home in an off mood so she thought, “I will have a walk, have my nails done and I will be okay.”

After doing her nails, Lucy started to feel better and while walking back home, she passed by her favorite shoe store. “I will just take a look”, she tells herself. She enters the store, looks at the wide variety of shoes, and thinks “Huh… They have a new collection. Oh.. Look there are new items on sale that I haven’t seen before.”

“I am just trying this pair,” she tells herself. Lucy asks for her size and tries on the pair. They look lovely in her feet. In fact, she likes them very much that she starts convincing herself that she needs them. “Well, I don’t have an open toe casual flat sandals that I can wear at night”, she persuades herself. “I am going to take these,” Lucy tells the sales man.

“Oh those shoes on sale look really comfy and will be great for work. Can I try them too?” Lucy asks the sales man. “Sure,” he replies.

Lucy tries on the black pair and they are extremely comfortable. There is another color on display, beige. “Should I get the black, the beige, or both?” Lucy asks herself. “Well, they are super comfy. I know I don’t need them for work because I already have work shoes, but I think I will get them anyway. It has always been hard for me to find comfy shoes for work,” she convinces herself.

“I am going to get both colors,” Lucy tells the sales man.

Walking back home, nails done and with her shopping bag filled with three pairs of shoes that she didn’t’ really need, Lucy starts thinking “Oh man, I did spend a lot of money today.”

Many people, like Lucy, would buy things out of desire, and not necessarily necessity. A nice to have can be something that is originally necessary, but with so many choices, styles and varieties, customers are drawn to buy more than they need of what they have originally needed, just in different forms.

--

--

Sherwette Mansour
Sherwette

Management consultant. Abstract artist. Interested in psychology and consumer behavior… Food, travel, photography, water sports... Spontaneous otherwise.