Keto Diet | Day 30 | It’s about time to move on, but first let me try one last new Keto recipe

Sherwette Mansour
Sherwette
Published in
4 min readOct 2, 2018

Weight: 60.7 KG

Target Weight: 57 KG

Waist: 82 cm

Mood: 5

30 Days on Keto diet without one single cheat meal. Every day, no carbs, or low carbs, with only an average of 20–50 grams of carbs per day.

Day 1 I weighted 63.3 KG, and in Day 30, my weight is 60.7KG. That’s 2.6KG that I have lost. I was hoping I would lose more weight. I thought I could reach my target 57KG. However, since I am tall 169 cm, and I am not really fat, except with a few imperfections, this diet didn’t seem to be really the right diet for me.

The lack of energy when exercising due to this diet didn’t really encourage me to couple exercise with the diet either. Nonetheless, that is not to say that this diet was a complete waste. It wasn’t.

In those 30 days, I have learned a lot about food and myself. It taught me the following:

  1. Self-discipline. I have incredible self-discipline, and I am so proud of myself.
  2. I discovered a supermarket where I can get great deals with cheaper prices.
  3. I learned how to make the perfect low carb smoothie breakfast that makes me feel full for a long time!
  4. I learned how to prepare good coffee with cream instead of milk.
  5. I learned how to prepare a pretty good ice-coffee at home.
  6. I appreciated how much I love the double-shot ice-shaken from Starbucks. Half-cream, half-almond milk. It tastes as if it’s coming from heaven.
  7. I learned how to bake a cheesecake.
  8. I had multiple failed trials of trying to make a chocholate cake in mug.
  9. I learned a lot about low carb sweeteners and which ones are better than others.
  10. I learned that Dubai DOES NOT have pure vanilla beans, or at least it’s not really accessible. Neither does Cairo.
  11. I learned how to bake a quiche. Actually, today is my first time to try it for dinner. I thought, well, since I have this much cheese in my fridge, I might as well make use of it. Let’s see how it will taste.
  12. I tried many successful recipes with eggplants. Did I say it’s one of my favorite food?
  13. I learned a lot about the composition of carbs, fat, and protein in food. Which has more carbs than others? Which has more fat? Saturated fat? Unsaturated fat? Protein?
  14. I learned not to be scared of fat. After all, I have been eating a lot of it and at least I wasn’t gaining weight. I did lose a little weight.
  15. I learned that a little amount of papaya in marinated chicken CAN kick me out of ketosis.
  16. I learned that I can calculate my body fat percentage in an online calculator.
  17. I learned how much I appreciate fruit and healthy carbs. I am not craving processed food. I am at the point where I am craving an apple and an orange!
  18. I learned that my mood recently hasn’t been very good and I need to do something about it. Although some, argue that it’s because of the diet, and I did google the food that makes people happy, and it turns out most of the Keto diet food should make you happy.
  19. I did not learn however how to keep my kitchen neat after trying all of those recipes.

So, what’s next?

As much as I enjoyed this diet, and I wouldn’t have survived without the cheese and the cream, I am looking forward to adding more carbs into my diet. I plan to do it gradually and slowly. I have a few reasons for it.

  1. I want to enjoy eating healthy.
  2. I want to build my muscles and tone up. Muscles need carbs. Exercise needs energy. I need the energy to exercise, and well, you get the logic.
  3. I want to be able to enjoy dark chocolate 70%, not 90% and definitely not 99%.
  4. I want to be able to eat fries every once in a while without thinking it will mess up my system.
  5. Even though I coffee with cream tastes good, I really miss having coffee with milk.
  6. I want to be able to try different cuisines when I travel, and I wouldn’t be able to do that if I am in a Keto diet.
  7. I want to try different cuisines when I go out, not only when I travel. I can still have healthy food, but it will contain some carbs.

How am I going to introduce carbs back into my diet?

I have done some research and one of the recommendations I found online is to follow the paleo diet. I am not a big fan of it. I mean no dairy? No cheese or cream? Thanks, but no thanks. I can’t get rid of cheese after I got used to it WHILE also STILL not having carbs. It’s just too hard for me even if I can have all the fruit and vegetables in the world. So, I came up with a gradual system for myself to follow.

  1. I am going to introduce carbs slowly back into my system. First, I will start with having fruit and vegetables that were off limits before, for example, apples, oranges, carrots, etc.
  2. After a few days or a week maximum, I will start introducing healthy carbs, such as brown rice, quinoa, sweet potatoes, etc.
  3. After a few days, I will be able to introduce one or two cheat meals in my week, like pizza, a burger or KFC.

I don’t really intend to go crazy with junk or unhealthy food. In fact, that hasn’t been the case for me in the past 2 years or so.

And now, it’s time for the menu of the day.

Breakfast:

  • Blueberry smoothie with Almond milk and cream

Lunch:

  • Tuna tartare with avocado
  • Broccoli

Dinner:

  • Crustless spinach shrimp quiche. I used a lot of the cheddar cheese sitting in my fridge! One last new Keto recipe to try. I wish I tried it earlier while being on this diet. I would have baked it again, and again and again.

Good Night.

--

--

Sherwette Mansour
Sherwette

Management consultant. Abstract artist. Interested in psychology and consumer behavior… Food, travel, photography, water sports... Spontaneous otherwise.