Keto Diet | Day 7 | I barely feel hungry

Sherwette Mansour
Sherwette
Published in
3 min readSep 9, 2018

Weight: 61.4 KG — More or less the same.

Target Weight: 57 KG

Waist: 83 cm

Buttocks: 96 cm

Yes! I got the measuring tape. I mean a friend got it for me :) :)

Mood: 5 — Sunday blues I guess.

Today is day 7 and that’s the end of the first week so here is something to celebrate. I lost almost 2 kgs since the beginning of the diet, although I think it’s mainly water retention.

Day 7 also means that I am going to make a choice on whether I will have a cheat day/meal or carry on with the keto diet for 30 days. I have decided to carry on and not have the “cheat” meal, and here is why:

  1. I feel I am on a cheat diet. I mean who could have thought that eating cheese and peanut butter is OK in a diet?
  2. I actually like the food I am eating.
  3. I resolved the coffee situation. I can have it with heavy cream which tastes pretty good.
  4. I stopped feeling hungry, and that is a good sign that I am in the ketosis state, although my keto strips are still “on the way”, so I am not really sure.
  5. I really don’t want to go through the cravings and to feeling nausea again.

Ok. So, here are a few updates from yesterday.

The nausea is gone. I had plenty of water and had salted peanuts for a snack to get some salt into my body.

I stopped feeling hungry. I mean Ok. I was a little hungry in the morning, but after I had my breakfast, it took me a good 6 hours before lunch. Even at lunch, I wasn’t hungry when I had it. Also, at dinner, although after exercising, I wasn’t hungry when I had it. I somehow feel guilty for eating lunch/dinner when I wasn’t hungry because calories count right? At the same time, I don’t want to feel weak with no energy, so I ate anyway.

I also exercised today, and to be frank, I was a bit worried that I will be drained out of energy, so I had a small spoon of peanut butter before I do. I wasn’t completely drained like before, but also I wasn’t super energetic. I can’t wait until I get into that ketosis state with the increased focus and energy.

Now, time for my menu for the day.

Breakfast:

  • Mixed berries smoothie with chia, almond milk, and cream.
  • Coffee with cream.

Snack:

  • Salted peanuts.
  • Gouda cheese slices.

Lunch:

  • Cajun chicken salad with avocado.
  • Starbucks ice-shaken coffee with cream and almond milk.

Dinner: Stir-fried chicken livers with garlic and mushrooms. According to the Internet, click here, mushrooms help with fatigue, so why not give it a try?

And now, the dessert!

I have tried the keto cheesecake recipe yesterday and it is absolutely delicious. I am honest, my chocolate cake in a cup is until now a disaster, but this one. I fell in love. Maybe, that’s one of the reasons I decided not to have a cheat meal because to be quiet frank, that is a cheat meal. That is the mother of all cheating. I also replaced vanilla extract with almond extract. A friend gave me a tip on where I could find vanilla beans and create the extract myself. So, I can’t wait to try it with vanilla. I mean, it could even be better!

I tried it yesterday, but I had to put it in the freezer for some time to cool down. I loved it yesterday, and I loved it, even more, today after sitting in the fridge for a whole day. I had some after dinner and I feel like super full, but more importantly super happy.

--

--

Sherwette Mansour
Sherwette

Management consultant. Abstract artist. Interested in psychology and consumer behavior… Food, travel, photography, water sports... Spontaneous otherwise.