Presenting someone else’s work?

Sherwette Mansour
Sherwette
Published in
2 min readAug 15, 2018

In the name of going through new experiences, here is one.

Presenting someone else’s work.

While we all heard of stories were people complain of someone else taking the credit of what they did, this is a bit different.

Some circumstances put you in situations, where you have to own what’s not yours — and that on it’s own is a challenge.

Without getting too much into detail on how that happened, I want to emphasis how that felt instead.

  1. It requires a lot of studying.
  2. It’s overwhelming because you need to know a lot of things you had no clue about in the first place.
  3. You need to feel very proud.
  4. You need to look at all positive aspects and why is it great.
  5. You need to ignore what you would have done.
  6. Confidence.

All of what’s mentioned above is what I am supposed to do, how I should act.

Two days in a row now, I have been explaining what I didn’t know, showcasing what I am very proud of as if it’s my own (but not technically mine), but then most importantly, defending it. And that’s the biggest challenge.

But how did I really feel?

  1. Stressed.
  2. Freaking out from the inside.
  3. Thinking, “what if???”
  4. Thinking, “Oh God, I really don’t have answer to that.”
  5. Then thinking, “when is will this be over?”
  6. And finally, “Oh God, I am done.”
  7. Wait, it’s not final yet, there are follow-up questions.
  8. Ok, finally, “I am done.”
  9. Now, I can breath. I am hungry.

Keto diet. I had cheese and cucumber for a snack. That’s not enough. I am actually starving.

Tuna, avocado, mayonnaise, cucumbers for my late lunch.

I am full. Good.

--

--

Sherwette Mansour
Sherwette

Management consultant. Abstract artist. Interested in psychology and consumer behavior… Food, travel, photography, water sports... Spontaneous otherwise.