Think carefully before you are generous

Sherwette Mansour
Sherwette
Published in
1 min readAug 7, 2016

You live in that moment when you feel you can give, you want to give, you would want to do nothing else but to give. You are excited. You are full of energy and you are passionate.

I have seen it in multiple situations whether in business or in personal. You give because you want to give, at this moment of time, just this moment.

Then you come home, at the end of the day, end of the week, end of the month or even end of the year. You start to think, “Should I have done that? I mean I like to give, but I don’t know if I want to keep doing that. Ughhh” Even worse, when you feel like, “Can I have it back?”

That’s one of the worst disappointments you can give a person. You give something then you take it back. Even worse when you promise something then you take it back.

When that happens, the repercussions are unforeseen. You lose more than what you would have gained by not giving a thing.

Generosity is a unique quality, usually perceived as premium. Once misused, it’s impact is exactly the opposite. Before being generous, think carefully and then go nuts.

--

--

Sherwette Mansour
Sherwette

Management consultant. Abstract artist. Interested in psychology and consumer behavior… Food, travel, photography, water sports... Spontaneous otherwise.