What happened when I stopped my mini Keto trial?

Sherwette Mansour
Sherwette
Published in
2 min readAug 18, 2018

I kind of miss it, but I love my coffee with real milk.

I didn’t go crazy. All my meals were almost keto friendly.

I had oats for breakfast (with honey), with little pieces of chocolate. Yes, I wanted that treat.

I had my morning coffee with lactose-free milk. To be frank, that is ultimately my biggest challenge in the Keto diet. Coffee with Almond milk tastes horrible.

I had bunless burger for an afternoon snack.

I had an apple for another snack. It tasted too sweet as opposed to the usual.

I exercised. I had energy this time. I missed that too.

I had broccoli and seafood for lunch.

I ate 70% Lindt Intense Orange dark chocolate. That one is yummy.

I had minced beef, mozzarella cheese and spinach for dinner. Super fatty if I am not in the ketosis stage.

So, how did I feel?

  1. More energetic for sure when it came to exercising.
  2. Tending to try more keto friendly meals post breakfast.
  3. My tastebuds are becoming more sensitive to what’s sweet.
  4. Feeling hungry almost all the time. So, it turns out it’s actually true. Carbohydrates does make us feel hungrier and does open the appetite.

So, what’s my plan?

I am looking forward to restarting it post-vacation mood. There are a few things that keep me thinking though:

  1. How can I bring my energy levels up when I am on the keto diet? According to the Internet, it can get even better after the first few days.
  2. How can I enjoy my coffee without milk? I need to try that heavy cream option.
  3. Should I have a cheat day or should I do it for 30 days straight? A cheat day might make me hold-on longer to it, even 60 days or 90 days. But also, having a cheat day means restarting the ketosis state of my body every week and going through the keto flu every week. The keto flu is basically what happens to our body when it turns from sugar burning to fat burning for energy.

A few decisions that I have to make. Until then, cheers!

--

--

Sherwette Mansour
Sherwette

Management consultant. Abstract artist. Interested in psychology and consumer behavior… Food, travel, photography, water sports... Spontaneous otherwise.