Serbian Tango Dancer Turned Fashion Designer, Marina Mićanović Makes Her Mark at NYFW

Jennifer Ortakales
She’s Got Her Ticket
2 min readSep 27, 2016
Photo courtesy of AMCONYC

Marina Mićanović exclusively used sharp angles, asymmetrical cuts and geometrical shapes in her Spring/Summer 2017 collection, yet the line still surged with fluidity. Perhaps her understanding of regimented choreography and free-flowing movement helped her achieve such a balance.

“My inspiration, whatever I make, is tango,” said the Serbian designer.

Her runway presentation was the last of a two day line-up at AMCONYC fashion week in New York City.

Shown in groups of three, each look incorporated dimensional textures and woven strips that often released into thick fringe. White and black separates offset bright magenta and highlighter yellow pieces.

“This is my passion and sometimes the best thing is when you don’t have expectations.”

Photo courtesy of AMCONYC

Over the four years Mićanović has been a designer, she’s thought of giving up. “But when I see my product in the end, when I see results I’m so happy because I didn’t stop,” she said.

She doesn’t stress about the future, enjoying the process as it unfolds rather than setting new goals immediately. “This is my passion and sometimes the best thing is when you don’t have expectations,” she said.

--

--