Noelle, Nurse’s Assistant, Minnesota

Shift Change
Shift Change
Published in
4 min readApr 16, 2020
Photo illustration by Misha Vladimirskiy

By Justin Sarachik

Shift Change tells the stories of ordinary people on the frontlines during a transformational period in American life. The goal of this project is to raise funds for Supply Drop Brooklyn, a charitable organization that partners with local restaurants to deliver meals to healthcare workers at affected hospitals. Your help can make a critical difference. Please visit Supply Drop and learn how you can make a contribution. For more information about this project, check out our About page.

Noelle is a nurse’s assistant in Minnesota. This is her story.

What is your profession?

I am a certified nursing assistant (geriatric nurse) for a long-term care center. I do all the dirty work for nurses. I assist with feeding, bathing, and cleaning — basically anything anyone needs. My job is to be hands-on when they need it.

When did you decide to become a geriatric nurse?

I actually worked at a group home for people with mental and physical disabilities for a while. I really started to fall in love with caretaking and making sure our most vulnerable had someone to take care of them. So, I got my CNA license and started working at the nursing home. I can not imagine working anywhere else. I’ve been doing caretaking for almost three years.

How has your life changed since the coronavirus struck?

Not much about physical care has changed. We always wear gloves, but now we wear surgical or N95 masks and some of the residents do too. Our residents are locked down in the nursing home. They can’t go in or out, and they can’t have visitors, so if they get it, chances are it’s from one of us. If it’s a positive or suspected case, it’s also to protect us.

The biggest change is the emotional care for the residents. I have some residents whose family call or visit almost every day and now they can’t do that. A lot of the population I work with is very reliant on family support. Because they can’t have visitors we have to act as that too. We listen to them, talk with them, hold their hand. It’s a lot more challenging. I spend a lot more time with them even though I have so much extra stuff on, and sometimes I have to yell for them to hear me. A lot of what they need is someone to spend time with them. We try to keep the activities up, but it’s hard. Some people can’t even come out of their rooms anymore.

We make sure their phones are always charged and the volume is always up. We try to keep them in touch with their family at all times.

What is the most difficult and frustrating part of this for you?

The most frustrating part is the lack of knowledge about the virus and what policies we can put in place to keep it at bay and help fight against it. I had an entire section in my class about preventing diseases in geriatric centers. Not knowing turns into countless policy changes, and every few days those change. Also, trying to keep up with all of the updated news to keep my residents healthy.

What type of emotional support unit is around you?

I’m pretty lucky. I live with really good friends. I call my mom daily and I love mostly everyone I work with. I think a support system is really necessary. Sometimes you need someone to listen to you if you’re having a bad day. It can be really overwhelming.

What advice do you have for older people who are at risk of getting the virus?

Make use of any kind of support system that you have. Rely on people who are offering to get things and help you. Stay home and stay safe. Many older people aren’t able to afford to live in a nursing home, so try and protect yourself as best you can. Rely on your family and friends as much as you can.

If you could be granted one wish right now, what would it be?

A vaccine. It would be able to treat the positive cases we have right now and prevent healthy ones from getting it.

What are your hopes for today and the future?

My immediate hope is that we can learn a little more about the virus and for people to actually listen to the CDC when they say stay at home. We are already stopping the spread. We have to do as much as we can to stay safe.

What are you listening to?

I have been listening to a lot more Celtic Woman. I play a bard in one of my DnD groups. Dungeons & Dragons is one of the few things holding me together.

What else do we need to know?

Stay safe, stay strong. Keep a check on parents and grandparents. Be positive, we will conquer this and get through it.

Visit Supply Drop Brooklyn for more information.

--

--

Shift Change
Shift Change

Shift Change is a team of journalists, editors, podcasters, and creatives telling the stories of healthcare workers and others on the frontlines of this crisis.