How focussing on value first helps to ship faster and stay focussed

I Shipped My 1st Product In 2020 Using The Value First Mindset

Edwin Klesman
Shipharder.com
7 min readMay 19, 2020

--

I shipped my first product in 2020 using the valuefirst mindset

On the 4th of May 2020, a sunny day in The Netherlands, my first product launch of 2020 (and in the past few years, to be exact) was a fact: Washem.

What’s A Washem?

Washem is a free mobile application built in Xamarin that shows video sequences during each washing step in the instructions as provided by the World Health Organisation (WHO) along with a countdown timer so kids (and adults) can follow along while washing, and see when they’re done.

I created the Washem because I wanted to teach my kids how to wash their hands conform to the World Health Organisation’s washing instructions, which are more complex than you’d imagine (especially for 7-year-old kids).

Hand washing proved to be not quite so trivial during the (Corona) pandemic crisis. And since building an app was within my skill-set, I wanted to help by building something scoped that I already had aquired the skills and experience for during my career.

But the functionality of the app isn’t what I wanted to celebrate in this milestone. Neither is my career.

Focus On Providing Value First

--

--

Edwin Klesman
Shipharder.com

Senior dev @Detacom | cross-platform mobile & web dev | Product Maker | SaaS | from app ideas to implementation | Owner eekayonline.com | Music: edsonkailes.com