Finding out which product to build as a maker

How To Choose From Multiple Business Ideas

Edwin Klesman
Shipharder.com
6 min readJul 8, 2020

--

In this post, I help entrepreneurs — to be more concrete: makers and developers - to learn how to choose which one of their business ideas to pursue.

One of the best insights for me as a maker was that I had to start writing down my ideas instead of wandering around and thinking of them occasionally.

I have both a paper notebook that I keep close and a Trello board dedicated to registering all my ideas.

The paper notebook helps me to scribble, doodle, and write about stuff that I’m working on or exploring without a hassle.

A notebook helps me to scribble, doodle and jot down my product ideas. And it helps me to choose from multible business ideas

Whereas the Trello board helps me to register, prioritize, and evaluate my ideas more in detail over time. I use the following columns to move them forward or stop working on them:

  • Mindspins (the backlog)
  • Investigating (talking to people, researching online)
  • Serious (creating a simple proof of concept and/or deeper investigation)
  • Building (defining and creating an MVP)

--

--

Edwin Klesman
Shipharder.com

Senior dev @Detacom | cross-platform mobile & web dev | Product Maker | SaaS | from app ideas to implementation | Owner eekayonline.com | Music: edsonkailes.com