Makers: Stop Perfecting, Start Shipping

Edwin Klesman
Shipharder.com
Published in
5 min readJan 12, 2019

--

Dear maker, developer, bootstrapper or entrepreneur: I urge you to stop perfecting your product.

Chances are, that if you’re reading this, that you are working on some (digital) product or service.

You’re writing, coding, defining or putting together your product with the intention for it to create enough value for its users so that they want to pay you for it, right?

Let me tell you something right now, right from the bat: as long as you’re building your product, and not shipping it, you’re not earning a single dime. The longer it takes for you to ship, the less you’re going to gain from your product.

Here Come The Buts

But I’m still finishing it.
But I’m figuring out the right name and logo.
But I want to just add feature X or Y before shipping.
But I’m refining the looks a little bit so it will be cleaner before it goes live.
But I don’t have the “forgot your password” function included yet.

The list goes on and on.

Buts don’t earn you revenue.

Shipharder.com

--

--

Edwin Klesman
Shipharder.com

Senior dev @Detacom | cross-platform mobile & web dev | Product Maker | SaaS | from app ideas to implementation | Owner eekayonline.com | Music: edsonkailes.com