Czech: A day in Prague

Grace E. Park
shiretoerebor
Published in
5 min readJun 24, 2016

Wanting to fit in both Czech and Austria before I left Europe, I only scheduled 36 hours in Prague! But I arrived there near midnight so I didn’t get to do much. Though I really should have gone out the second night with that cute guy named John or something. Regrets of 2015.

Anywho, I’ve seen photos of Prague (also in movies, because Prague is used as the typical European background often) and marveled at how beautiful of a city it was! The city is easy enough to navigate between.. but I wish I had gotten myself a bike or something for the day, because by the end, my feet were killing me.

My hostel was on the east side of the Vitava river that runs through the center of the city. So, my action packed day:

I woke up at early to head over to the Metronome north of the river to catch the sun rise over the seven bridges that you can see at once from the top of the hill. Unfortunately.. it was cloudy :c

I headed down the Cechuv most (bridge) to cross the river, and crossed again at the Manusuv most.

This takes you into the beginnings of the whole area that’s supposed to be filled with pretty parks and palaces.. but as I got there in december, there weren’t flowers or sunshine to welcome me. Just some rain and dead plants.. But nevertheless, I could see the palace in the back, and the mansions along the way were impressive! I stopped by St. nicholas church, where you can climb the tower for a few euros to get a perfect view of the city and the Prauge Castle.

Then, I headed over the the castle where you can pay for an entrance fee.. orr.. you can wait till the evening and walk through the Golden Lane for free. The cathedral itself is also free entrance, so don’t be tricked into buying one of their expensive entrance packages! also stopped by the christmas market that was open there. but there are much more impressive markets elsewhere!

I also walked all the way up to see Loreta, because apparently people thought it was interesting.. but for my history lacking mind, it was just a decently pretty building. Not worth the climb.

From there, though, I walked to the top of Petrin Hill, where there is the tower that looks like a mini eiffel tower.

You can pay a fee to go up it for the views, but as it isn’t much higher than the hill, you can do without the additional climb. The Park around it though, is a relaxing walk.

Heading back, I crossed on the Karluv most, because it has spectacular views of all the magnificent buildings in Prague!

Another notable building more south is the Dancing house which is supposed to have some funky architecture, but I decided to skip it, because what I wanted to see was the classic prague buildings. Not some fancy, new, glass, abstract art stuff.

Back on the east side of the river, there are restaurants that are apparently amazing for beer, and some for bread.. according to the USE-IT map that I picked up. But two of the places I headed over to were permanently closed, so I started to ignore the restaurant recommendations this place was making. But, I met up with a friend and stopped by a cute looking tapas place! This place, i dont know if serves Czech food really but, was good! Called Sisters Bistro

As you walk up north, you will find a lot of cashmere and pashmina stores selling scarves for cheap! They’re all fake. Like, just no way it’s that cheap.

But head back to the center city, and you’ll find the famous Prague Astronomical clock, the Old Town Hall, and the Municipal House.

But the best part was, in the Old Town Square (along with three or four other places) a Christmas market had opened up selling all sorts of decorations, gifts, and street food!

At night, head back to the Old Prague Castle to catch the castle beautifully lit, and to see the night view of the city.

--

--

Grace E. Park
shiretoerebor

millennial diary entries of a female software developer in SF.