Italy: Venice

Grace E. Park
shiretoerebor
Published in
3 min readOct 14, 2015

Italy! This was one of the countries that I would not have missed for any reason! Full of life, art, and culture ❤

I flew into the Venice airport, which is also just in the middle of the ocean. There are multiple ways to transfer, but the best way (though a bit more expensive, 25 Euros) is to take the waterbus. That way, you can see Venice from the Ocean. And you get a (practically) free waterbus tour around the whole city if you stay on long enough.

c1
c3

I also was that one obnoxious girl that wanted to be up on the deck, and the ship driver(?) captain(?) dude only let one person up. #winning.

c2
c4

Venice, a lot of people will tell you, is full of tourists. But it is very easy to see why! Everything is beautiful, and there are so many alleyways and streets in which you can lose yourself. And I happened to do that quite often because I had no data. I was looking for a bank and a vodafone and the process took quite a while, so by the time I got money and data, I had explored half of the city.

6
c6

Pro tip, never buy anything for full price from street vendors. I took my own selfie stick, and I bought one for 5 euros from a street vendor selling it for 15.

Souvenirs are literally all over the city, but you can’t come to Italy and miss the gelato. And the moscato! So I bought both, but moscato grapes are not very good.. sort of tough on the outside and really sweet. TIL.

7
c5

I decided that Venice wasn’t really worth a whole day (mainly because I had limited time). The Grand Canal, Roalto Bridge, Doge’s Palace. Saint Mark’s Basilica, and Piazza San Marco are all great to visit, but you sort of just get there, look at it, take some photos, and you’re done. So after arriving in Venice at 9am, I left around 3–4 PM and took a train to Florence.

--

--

Grace E. Park
shiretoerebor

millennial diary entries of a female software developer in SF.