Korea: Sokcho

Grace E. Park
shiretoerebor
Published in
4 min readJun 27, 2016

Sokcho is a city on the east coast of Korea, located way way north. It’s a decently small and rural city, but I knew of it because 1N2D went there. An awesome part was the old school market (my fav)

You got everything from household supplies, to clothes, to food.

Shrimp gang jung (sauced fried shrimp) $3

These savory pancakes made with different vegetables and grains $1–2 each

Chicken gang jung (fried, sauced, and cooled chicken). Mansuk’s is the famous place here! Apparently you have to line up and stuff for it, but I got there at a good time!

Baby kimbabs!

of all sorts of fun flavors

And what I’ve been waiting for! called abai blood sausage (abai soondae). Sokcho has their own way of making it, and it is faaantastic.

this is also a sokcho favorite, and it is sausage made with a squid! the real way to make it is to make it into a flower-y pattern inside. Whoever doesn’t do it this way is a noob and a fake, according to the lady that sold me these.

theyll wrap it in egg and fry it for you so that you can eat it warm!

Walk straight through the market to get to the water, and youll see a super super old school boat. It’s called a gaet-bae, and you pull yourself across. It’s 50 cents to ride, and you can help the guy pull the boat, if you want.

This place was famous because of this one korean drama that swept the nation, called fall story. Before, the banner used to just have that on here, but after 1n2d came, the banner switched to include them too!

Once you cross the water, you can get to the old fashioned village, and the convenience store selling throwback snacks that 1n2d came to!

Potato Pancakes are also famous in sokcho according to signs, and I love me some potato pancakes. so i got me some potato pancakes.

The ultimate dinner was here: the seafood bbq. It’s the place that 1n2d came to eat, and was supposed to be this endless line of different fish. But instead, I came at an off time an only ordered single servings, so I got precooked meat and only half ish of the list? which was fine, because I couldn’t even finish what I was served.

And the best purchase of the trip was these $5 grandma pants that I got in the old school market!

--

--

Grace E. Park
shiretoerebor

millennial diary entries of a female software developer in SF.