New Zealand: Day 14: Nelson to Christchurch

Grace E. Park
shiretoerebor
Published in
2 min readDec 25, 2014

I spent the whole day on the bus going from Nelson to Picton, where I got to pass the Pelorus bridge where some parts of the second hobbit movie were filmed:

2014-09-13 09.10.04

Then we passed by the east coast of the south island, where in the summer, whale watching would be going on

2014-09-13 14.39.43

Normally I don’t like carbonated beverages, but I had to buy this one because it said it was world famous!

2014-09-13 15.41.04

I got off the bus in Christchurch late in the evening, and for a large city that is supposed to be one of the big attractions in New Zealand, Christchurch was pretty shitty and shady. I stayed in a hostel called Around The World Backpackers, and the people were friendly enough, but the facilities were low tier.

--

--

Grace E. Park
shiretoerebor

millennial diary entries of a female software developer in SF.