REVIEW: Cathay Pacific and Qantas Lounges

Hong Kong Airport (HKG), May 2015

Carl Cheng
Cup of Chai | a food and travel publication

--

In April, I was flying from Hong Kong to Singapore on Cathay Pacific Economy, using 4,000 British Airways miles (transferred from Chase Ultimate Rewards points) and $101.68 in taxes. Alternately, I could’ve spent up to 10,000 British Airways miles and paid less in taxes but felt that the miles would be better saved for future flights.

As an American Airlines Platinum elite status (Oneworld Sapphire), I had access to Oneworld Business Class Lounges when flying internationally on a Oneworld partner. At HKG, the Oneworld Business lounges available are the Dragonair G16 Lounge, The Qantas Hong Kong Lounge, and the 4 Cathay Pacific Business Class lounges: The Wing, The Pier, The Bridge, and The Cabin.

I didn’t make it to the Dragonair G16 Lounge (Dragonair is Cathay Pacific’s regional airline) this trip but I have been before. It’s definitely a bit dated and not as nice as any of the other, fresher offerings but it does have a decent noodle bar as well.

Locations of the 5 Cathay Pacific Lounges (including Dragonair) and Qantas Lounge

When you pass through security, the closest lounges are Qantas, The Wing, Dragonair G16, and The Cabin. I knew I wanted to finish at The Wing because it’s Cathay Pacific’s flagship lounge and I didn’t know Qantas had a lounge at HKG, so I decided to start there and make my way to the other lounges…

--

--

Carl Cheng
Cup of Chai | a food and travel publication

Activist / Gamer / Jetsetter / Hangry / Dork with swagger. Based in ATX with CA and NYC roots