Choose the simple option

Why I chose the simplest option out of 1000+

Daniele Catalanotto
Shit Ideas Method
3 min readJan 9, 2015

--

I made 1000+ logos

A preview of the 1000+ logos produced

This project is a visual identity research based on the proverb “God couldn’t create a mountain without a valley”. For this work, I decided to explore a very large set of possibilities for the logotype which should condense all the meaning of the sentence.
Working an hour a day for several months, I was able to develop more than a thousand different visual interpretations, with a different accent put on one of the relfections of the proverb.

And chose the simplest option

Finally I resumed all my research in a unique logo, as simply and condensed as possible: an oblique bar expressing the impossiblity and the limits in every things.

Here is why

So, I had 1000 options and I chose a stupid oblique bar? And I had pretty good looking solutions, more creative, more complex, but I chose this one. You may think that I’m insane. You are maybe not that wrong, but I hope to convince you about the opposite

Go for “essence” not “design”

Creating a logo, a product, a service or whatever item that is a bit creative is not about making something that has nice features. No. It’s about creating something that is meaningful, something that shares the values, story in the most clear and suitable way. I had more creative logo in that amount. But there wasn’t one logo that was that simple and powerful. In a single perfect line I can express that there is something impossible even for what is infinite. With a single line, I can also give the visual sensation of the mountain and the valley. Do I need to make it more complex? No.
When you arrive to something that is so condensed and clear, it’s the good solution. Even if it’s simple, and seems not creative it contains all the essence and that’s we are looking for.

I had the right to do it

“When everybody is shouting,
the best way to be heard is to whisper”

When you work hard, you should do a big statement. For this project I had two options: show a complex and really creative solution. Or do the opposite and go for the most simple solution. Because I had done such a hard work before, I had not to present something that would create a bold reaction. Because the working process was so bold, I had the right to present something that was not impressive, but just working.
Usually in creative profession we want to impress our clients, colleagues or teachers. By impressing our colleagues with our working process and our research we are allowed to present work that is only focused on the essence.

Going further

Discover why you should have
a gigantic numbered goal for your next project

--

--

Daniele Catalanotto
Shit Ideas Method

A swiss service designer who thinks that the best hobby in the world is to help others — catalanotto.ch