About

Shivani Pillai
Shivani’s Den of Ideas
1 min readDec 27, 2019

As a student of English Language and Literature, what fascinated, and continues to fascinate, me the most about this discipline is its astounding democratic nature. It is my belief that within Literature, anything and everything can be discussed. As this belief grew in strength, exploration of the various inter-disciplinary approaches to English Literature went from being an idea to a full-fledged passion.

Through this blog, it is my intention to share my research, which primarily deals with the overlap between the disciplines of ‘Memory’ and ‘Literature’. Further, I will also use this blog as an opportunity to substantiate the above-mentioned idea with the support of Cognitive Psychology, which is yet another interesting field.

Within the vast corpus of English Literature, my research will aim to specifically engage with the texts that were written post 1900, which involves Modern Literature, Post-Modern Literature, Postcolonial Literature, etc…

The subsequent posts on this blog will be an in-depth reflection and development of the ideas mentioned above.

--

--