Flashlight fun

Shiyu Chen
Shiyu’s ITP blog
Published in
3 min readNov 1, 2018

My very first time fabrication.

Initially, I designed two different versions of the flash light I would like to make. The first version is designed by functional purpose, a prismoid that would be able to attach to my key chain. The other one is designed by conceptual purpose, a match-liked flashlight.

I chose the conceptual one. In the primitive society, people used branch /wood stick to light up and that is how we had match. And the match is the original prototype of a flashlight. So I want to trace back to make a match-liked flashlight that not only express the original prototype, but also evoke the connection between human and nature. Therefore, I decided to use wood to make my flashlight.

I found several dowels in the junk shelf and cut it in some pieces. For the main one, I cut a bit so that I was able to put the coin battery inside.

Then I others in angle so I was able to glue them to the main one.

For the head of the match, I went to several hardware stores to find a dome but was not able to find it. So I decided to make myself one by 3D printing.

Then I used spray paint to paint it, which became like that:

After it dried, I glued the head to the main dowel, and put the LED inside. And finally it looks like this:

--

--