My color palette

Shiyu Chen
Shiyu’s ITP blog
Published in
2 min readOct 3, 2018

How to applies my color palette into geometry.

In order to choose my color palette, I started thinking about things that touches my soul, the philosophy I am obsessed with, the color I wear, the photographs and movie I love. I find that I am obsessed with time, love, and the concept of flow. I find the shadow of the light and branch is intriguing. I find myself especially enjoy relaxing under the moon light as it is so soft to heal the anxiety and pain. I find the flow of water is tranquil yet mysterious that implies the essence of life. I love the natural light of sunset goes through the window and reflect on the wall. I also question myself: if Time ever has color palette, what would it be?

I applied the flower and the moon to imply love, the water to imply flow, the shadow, the reflection and the light to imply time.

I searched some photographs contain the objects above and analyzed their color palette.

According to the palette, I choose my color below:

Dark Slate Grey, Slate Grey, Light Slate Grey, Midnight Blue, Light Sea Green, Saddle Brown, Dark Red

I love the geometry of the windows of the church so I decided to apply my compositions with that.

--

--