Stephanie Johnson
Shooting: Behind The Scenes
4 min readJul 4, 2016

--

Behind The Scenes : Friday May 27, 2016

I had so much fun on this shoot with Britt and Dan! Not only are these two stunners, both Britt and Dan run their own businesses which ultimately makes them a force to be reckoned with (I may start referring to them as my ‘power couple’ if they’ll let me). Britt’s in insurance, busy building her client base of young families planning for the future, and Dan’s a personal trainer who helps others get into shape and feel great about themselves, not too shabby guys!

I’ve known Britt for some time now. We used to work together and through some other mutual friends and shared interests, we’ve managed to stay in touch over the years. When she approached me about shooting her wedding next year I was thrilled! Not only will it be a gorgeous occasion (I don’t want to spoil anything, but think chic with a simple rustic/cottage twist), but here I had the opportunity to reconnect with her beyond the Facebook updates. Dan and I on the other hand had never met but when he and Britt came over to see if I’d be a fit for their special day, I felt comfortable with him right away. He has this warm, congenial energy that puts you at ease right away.

When we discussed what we were going to do for our shoot, I was really happy to hear that we were going to work in a lot of personal touches. You’ve heard it from me before, but locations and subtle props always shine through in photos and make for a more relaxed day of shooting. We started in a family garden, played frisbee with Dudley (their adorable pup) in a park, went rollerblading, visited Hawk’s Cliff and then crashed a prom photo shoot to sneak a few pics at a park with some great archways. It was busy, but it gave some great variety to our shots which we were all really happy with!

I have to say that with all the pressure of trying to make your own way, it’s easy to let other things fall by the wayside but these two seem to find the time to stay in touch with their tight knit group of friends, give lots of cuddles to Dudley (don’t worry he makes an appearance down below), and work crazy hours, all while giving their relationship the focus and time it needs to flourish.

I can’t wait for the day when Britt walks down the aisle, it’s going to be magic! Congrats you two, the countdown is on! Now on to the photos…

--

--