Stephanie Johnson
Shooting: Behind The Scenes
5 min readSep 15, 2016

--

Behind the Scenes : Jason and Julie

I don’t want to put Jason on the spot here, but there was some serious buildup to this wedding! I met Julie back in 2014 and after chatting with her briefly, I could feel her eagerness to get planning once the question had been popped.

Most of the brides that I meet are excited to set up a Pinterest board and hire their florist…or photographer (ahem), but there was something different about these two. Yes, it had taken a while to decide when and where the wedding would be, but when the day finally came it felt like it was just what was needed to make it all that they had hoped and dreamed it would be.

The guestlist was intimate, Julie’s dress was big and beautiful, and the speeches….oh the speeches. I am not typically one to get teary-eyed while shooting, but to hear the history and support from their friends and family, it was truly moving and Roman and I were honoured to have been a part of the story. Now it wasn’t all sappy love stuff, there were jokes, funny faces and runny noses and that’s what I will remember most about these two. It was between the jokes, when Jason and Julie really looked at one another that I could feel the bond that was formed when they became a family.

Congratulations guys! Enjoy your life together, enjoy your family (sniffle), now on to the photos (sniffle)!

--

--