Meet the Experts: Joey Olaopa

Timothy Dann-Barrick
Storetasker
Published in
2 min readJul 11, 2018

This is the next in our series of expert interviews, Meet the Experts where we highlight the talent that makes Storetasker run smoothly. This week we had a chat with Joey Olaopa. Check back each week for new expert highlights.

Where do you live and where are you from?

I’m from Oyo state, Nigeria. I currently live in Lagos but I’ve lived in other cities around the world. One of the luxuries the 21st century is that you can work remotely from anywhere on the planet with an internet connection.

Joey Olaopa — Storetasker Expert

How did you become a Shopify expert?

I’ve been a freelancer for the past 7–8 years and was previously a Wordpress developer. I had a couple of clients come to me with Shopify related jobs and I had to dive in. Upon, working on those projects I learnt a lot about how the Shopify platform works and started enjoying working on it more than I did Wordpress. I eventually, decided to focus solely on Shopify projects and I haven’t looked back since.

What are your areas of expertise?

I’m a full stack web developer (front-end and back-end). I create theme tweaks and custom scripts to add new functionality to Shopify stores. I also build custom private apps to extend the Shopify platform to fit with my clients’ business models.

What are your favourite kind of jobs?
I like challenging jobs that push the limits on what can be achieved on the Shopify platform. My ideal client is a merchant that can explain their problem correctly in detail, has an idea of what they need but is willing to collaborate with an expert to create a custom solution.

Why should a merchant choose to work with you?

I’m a natural problem solver and I’m genuinely interested in building solutions that will provide a quick return on investment.

What motivates you?

The Shopify platform is constantly evolving so keeping up with all these changes while constantly building innovative solutions that help merchants stores is my main motivation that is, apart from Coffee.

To work with Joey, mention his name when you post your job.

--

--

Timothy Dann-Barrick
Storetasker

Digital Marketing @ Storetasker-Shopify Experts, Montréal, Lives with a cat