Meet the 2018 SEC Participants!

Instacart Shopper News
The Instacart Checkout
5 min readMay 22, 2018

The Shopper Experience Council (SEC) is set to kick off in San Francisco on June 7, and we’re thrilled to announce our inaugural participants.

We reviewed over 3,800 questionnaires and spoke with more than 50 Shoppers to ultimately select 13 individuals from across the US and Canada.

In reading these submissions and speaking with Shoppers about their experiences, it was clear that each selected member brings a unique perspective to the table. What they all have in common is that they are genuinely passionate about improving the Shopper experience at Instacart and are eager to relay the spectrum of interests and diversity of voices throughout the United States and Canada.

In the end, we had such an overwhelming response and spoke with so many amazing Shoppers that we decided to increase the number of SEC participants to 10 Full Service Shoppers, two In-Store Shoppers and one Shift Lead. We believe that members of each group will share with us valuable feedback about what they face in their respective roles.

The individuals selected to participate have a wealth of experience, are representative of the diverse regions and have experienced many changes at Instacart as the company has grown. In the end, the search team felt the selected participants will be able to articulate their experiences and insights in a manner that will greatly benefit all Shoppers.

Meet the 2018 SEC participants:

Full-Service Shopper Group

Teresa Alvarez (Los Angeles, CA)
4,400 Shops Completed

“Having been chosen to be part of the SEC is very inspiring to me. I look forward to sharing my opinions and insights to hopefully create a better Instacart for all. I’ll rely on my shopping experience to guide me, and I am eager to meet everyone.”

Rich Garcia (Boulder, CO)
2,600 Shops Completed

“This is a great opportunity to help other Shoppers. Through my many real-life examples, I have many ideas for ways to help Instacart improve the Shopper experience.”

Jae Quiroga (New York, NY)
3,600 Shops Completed

“Being a member of the Shopper Experience Council is important to me because this will give the group a chance to learn more about the real-life challenges and frustrations Shoppers experience that Instacart probably isn’t even unaware of. I feel a sense of responsibility to represent the very human aspect of the Shoppers, who serve our very human customers.”

Teresa Volpe (Albuquerque, NM)
7,000 Shops Completed

“I currently live in Albuquerque, NM, and have previously lived in Los Angeles, CA. Having worked for Instacart in both locations … I’m eager to share my insights with Instacart about Shopper life through the SEC group.”

Michael Cunningham (Philadelphia, PA)
5,400 Shops Completed

“I am a husband, father and Full-Service Shopper in the Philadelphia and New Jersey Regions. I’m hard working, passionate and driven to serve both the customer and the Shopper communities. My goal is to inspire positive change.”

Gerald Prudhomme (Miami, FL)
4,700 Shops Completed

“I am proud to be part of the SEC panel. I hope that my input will be productive and helpful as we move forward in this fast growing and greatly expanding industry. Thank you for the chance to help improve things for Shoppers!”

Letitia Price (Atlanta, GA)
6,900 Shops Completed

“I have been a shopper with Instacart in Atlanta since June 2014. I have knowledge of all the past and current changes with the Shopper app and am very excited to be part of the SEC to share my thoughts, both positive and negative, about the Shopper and customer experience.”

Jasmin Pellegrino (Chicago, IL)
540 Shops Completed

“Using my feedback as a starting point, I plan to listen closely to what I hear from other Shoppers, so I can contribute to lasting improvements at Instacart.”

Brian Bridwell (Louisville, KY)
650 Shops Completed

“I am honored to be part of the SEC! I look forward to meeting Shoppers from across the country and working with them to make Instacart even better for Shoppers and customers alike. Personally, I strive to do everything to the best of my ability, and I’m thrilled to be a part of a company that reflects this same value.”

Joanna Ressi (Toronto, ON)
1,200 Shops Completed

“The SEC will allow me to interact with the Shopper community in a positive manner. Ultimately, I want to help all Shoppers be successful in working with Instacart as well as enjoy the experience.”

In-Store Shopper and Shift Lead Group

Christle Bocca (San Francisco, CA)
In-Store Shopper — 800 Shops Completed

“I am here to advocate for Shoppers and strengthen their voice. I believe communication is the most important component to building a better Instacart, and I’m excited to be part of the SEC to help seek out solutions to Shopper problems!”

Tyler Pederson (Minneapolis, MN)
In-Store Shopper — 6,300 Shops Completed

“Being a part of the SEC gives me the opportunity to share my challenges as a Shopper with fresh faces. I look forward to hearing, firsthand, the experiences of my peers from across the country and Canada!”

Michelle Frazier (New York, NY)
Shift Lead — 1,000 Shops Completed as a Shopper

“I’m beyond excited to be a part of this council and serve as a voice for our amazing Shoppers! Looking forward to sharing my experience as a Shopper turned Shift Lead, as well as representing ongoing feedback from Shoppers to create a more collaborative culture for them!”

Please continue to visit The Instacart Checkout for more updates on the progress of the SEC and other exciting initiatives.

--

--