4 Barbecue Essentials from Me, a Person Who Has Never Used a Grill

Shoppo
SHOPPO Blog
Published in
3 min readJun 5, 2018

I have never operated a grill before, but I do have a porch. I have also been to many barbecues and I’m fairly certain I could, in an emergency, probably do it. Here are some things that I, someone who has never barbecued anything, know are essential to cooking with a grill.

The Grill

You need a grill thing in order to have a barbecue. This is obvious. The grill is a big metal bowl, or maybe it’s a box, with some lines on top of it where the food goes. You set some coal on fire inside the metal bowl and then let it burn down until it just starts smoking for a while. You keep the smoke (or fire?) in with a lid, but sometimes you don’t. This is a grill.

The Grill Rack

The grill rack is some criss-crossed metal poles that goes on top of the smoke and/or fire, and it’s where you put the stuff you want to barbecue. It also leaves little barbecue lines on your food, which are very important. You can’t cook your food without the grill rack, or maybe you can, but it would probably get pretty dirty.

Tongs

You shouldn’t just grab a hamburger out of a fire with your bare hands. You probably could, but you shouldn’t. I know this, and I am not even a doctor. This is why you need some tongs, another barbecue essential.

Skewers

What if you want to cook little pieces of vegetables or meats, but if you cook them by themselves, they are too small and will fall into the fire? Or even if they are not too small, you will have to flip them individually, which will take a very long time? What do you do? The solution is skewers, which are just food sticks. Put all your little foods on a stick together. This is the way.

I Have Never Used a Grill

Summer is a time for barbecuing and grilling, which I know because I see other people doing it. Equip yourself with these four essentials, and you’ll be able to barbecue your own food, unlike me, who has never done this.

What?

Shoppo is an actual AF shopping app with millions of actual AF products that you can buy today. Download the Shoppo app, like Shoppo on Facebook and follow us on Instagram for great prices on a bunch of real barbecue essentials for novices and experts alike.

--

--