I Just Found Out Meghan Markle Has Been in my Brain for 25 Years

Shoppo
SHOPPO Blog
Published in
2 min readApr 20, 2018
Photo by Mark Jones/CC By 2.0

Truth be told, I wasn’t particularly interested in Meghan Markle until I was checking Facebook in the bathtub the other day and the video of basset hounds I was watching finished and switched over Markle giving a speech before I had the chance to click exit. She was telling a story about starting a letter-writing campaign when she was a kid to change a sexist dishwashing liquid advertisement, and I full-on spit-taked onto my iPhone, only partially because a little bit of the bathwater had dribbled into my mouth.

I KNEW THE STORY. I had seen her profiled on Nick News W5 (which I never could remember) when it originally aired, and would spend the next 25 years thinking about the girl who got pissed at the boys in her class for laughing and saying “that’s where women belong…in the kitchen” any time I read anything about gender-targeted advertising.

Literally screaming to no-one “THAT WAS MEGHAN MARKLE?!?!” I quickly did a search which revealed a whole lot of people saying “There’s no way an 11-year-old did this — there’s no evidence,” and I screamed back, “YES SHE DID. I REMEMBER.”

Anyway, someone (the Queen?) finally dug up the Nick News footage, proving that not only was I right all along but that I had had her in my brain for most of my life and long story short, I’m totally all about Meghan Markle now.

Get princess-perfect for less

Download the Shoppo app, like Shoppo on Facebook and follow us on Instagram for deep discounts on all your favorite royal wedding looks.

--

--