An Ally’s Journey: Nick Guldin

Katherine Volker
ShopRunner

--

Emphasizing the importance of diversity and inclusion means it allows us to bring together people from all different backgrounds in order to build a company that more accurately reflects the world we operate in. It brings more perspectives to the table and eliminates boundaries and barriers for groups who have been marginalized and underrepresented. A big part of doing this involves examining our own privilege, whatever that may look like. Today, we have a story of how one of our very own has chosen and succeeded at using his own voice and platform to be an ally. And, we couldn’t be more proud!

I’m not an underrepresented candidate or employee in most organizations. I am a white, cisgender, heterosexual, upper-middle-class man. I have experienced tremendous privilege in my life, which aided in my growth and trajectory. Having privilege doesn’t mean I haven’t worked hard to get where I am today, both in my career and in my life, but by acknowledging my privilege, I also acknowledge that the systems we all live in in this society are rigged in my favor. I don’t get defensive about it because I didn’t build these systems, but I accept that it helps me to evolve so that I operate mindfully in the greater world despite it.

I am an ally thanks to the help of my family, friends, and colleagues. An ally is someone who is not a member of an underrepresented group but who takes action to support that group. As a recruiter, I have so many opportunities to be an ally and make an impact on my company and society as a whole. What started as a curiosity to understand lived experiences outside of my own (remember, I’m a recruiter!) has grown into a perpetual search to show up as the best coworker and person possible — asking the right questions and admitting when I don’t know something. Growing up (and even in my early professional years), I was uneducated on the subject of equity and inclusion in the workplace and the world at large. And, believe it or not, I still am. I’m a work in progress, as are all humans. I am always learning more about how I can improve as an ally and do my part to help level the playing field for everyone. Many conversations around DEI (diversity, equity, and inclusion) start from the perspective of people who fall into underrepresented categories and that is super valuable and important. Allies need to work to keep the voices of underrepresented people centered in the discussion of how to affect change. It will require people like me stepping up into our roles as allies to make real dents in the system.

ShopRunner’s focus as a Talent Team is always, above all, to hire the best candidate for the role, but we do put an emphasis on building diverse talent pools. This can take some extra effort at times but building a diverse and inclusive environment is well worth it. It’s a verifiable fact that diverse teams drive better results for businesses as a whole. So far this year, We have hired about 40 employees, and in addition to filling these roles one by one, we’ve been nurturing a talent community. These evolving talent communities are used to fill the pipelines for our open roles now and in the future. I make a conscious effort to get to know underrepresented candidates and get them in the mix with hiring managers to review and include in the interview process. We’re looking for a workplace that is reflective of the communities where we operate, as well as our consumers. This way the employees involved in building our products reflect that broader world too.

Let me reiterate: We hire the best candidate for the role, regardless of race, gender, age, religion, gender identity, or sexual orientation. I advocate for equality throughout every step of the hiring process. Even when the offer is in negotiation we use a simple powerful tool that come in the form of a set of salary bands to help ensure we’re making the candidate a compelling and fair offer. We use these set salary bands to guide us through the offer process to make sure the entire company is aligned in regard to compensation.

And I’ve saved my most important skill for last — listening. How can I be an ally to various oppressed groups if I’m not communicating and listening to what they have to say? I come with a humble heart and a curious mind, and I’ve grown as a listener these past few years both in my personal and professional life. I’ve learned that part of being a good ally is allowing the space for others to show up authentically and wholly. To allow them to show up wholly, I listen wholly. I work to actually hear how the other perspectives are different than mine. From there, I find space to allow for that perspective to shine in real-time collaboration.

I am writing this to share my personal story as an ally. My hope is that others see it and in turn open their hearts and minds to learning. That’s the only way we can improve as a community and beyond.

--

--