The Twelve Essential Jimmy Buffett Songs

Nathan Kanuch
Shore2Shore Country
4 min readJun 7, 2017

I’ve been working on a piece on the early country rock scene, and it’s turned into more of a long-form piece than I had originally intended. I’ll publish it soon, but until then, I wanted to do a little piece on the ten essential Jimmy Buffett songs. I’ve previously made my feelings about the underappreciation of Jimmy Buffett here. He’s a brilliant songwriter, and his early work in particular I would put in the class of Kristofferson, Nelson, and Dylan.

I don’t intend to make a habit of publishing lists on this site, but I’ve always wanted to write about whatever I feel at the time. So below you will find the twelve essential Jimmy Buffett songs.

12.) “Kick It In Second Wind”
Songwriters: Buffett and Jane Slagsvol
Album: Havana Daydreamin’
1976

“Kick It In Second Wind” describes a singer’s night playing a rough, seedy bar for a several hour long set. It’s the tiny details that make this such an essential song like the bass man taking a fall and the waitresses collecting the glasses off the tables.

11.) “Havana Daydreamin’”
Songwriter: Buffett
Album: Havana Daydreamin’
1976

“Havana Daydreamin’” is a song about dreams- plain and simple. I’m still not quite sure if the lyrics are more optimistic or wistful, but it’s a song that makes you think.

10.) “Nautical Wheelers”
Songwriter: Buffett
Album: A1A
1974

I’ve never been to Key West, but every time I hear “Nautical Wheelers” I feel like I’m in a little beach bar in the early 1970s. It’s a poignant song, and like the majority of his songs, is built from his own experiences.

9.) “Son of a Son of a Sailor”
Songwriter: Buffett
Album: Son of a Son of a Sailor
1978

Buffett once performed this song with a broken leg on Saturday Night Live. More importantly, “Son of a Son of a Sailor” is one of the first Buffett songs I remember from my childhood. I was already in love with the ocean, and this song did much to reinforce why I love the ocean.

8.) “Coast of Marseilles”
Songwriter: Keith Sykes
Album: Son of a Son of a Sailor
1978

One of the few songs to appear on a Buffett album not written or co-written by Buffett, “Coast of Marseilles” is heartbreaking from start to finish. Anyone who has ever lost someone can relate to these lyrics.

7.) “Wonder Why We Ever Go Home”
Songwriter: Buffett
Album: Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Attitudes
1977

“Wonder Why We Ever Go Home” confronts several things at once- the need for freedom while wanting to love someone, questioning where you truly belong, and where your dreams are going to take you. I’ve always thought about this song anytime I take a trip away from home.

6.) “He Went to Paris”
Songwriter: Buffett
Album: A White Sport Coat and a Pink Crustacean
1973

Bob Dylan once cited Buffett as one of his favorite songwriters and mentioned “He Went to Paris” in particular as one of his favorite songs. Waylon Jennings also covered this great song about Eddie Balchowsky, veteran of the Spanish Civil War.

5.) “One Particular Harbor”
Songwriter: Buffett and Bobby Holcomb
Album: One Particular Harbor
1983

“One Particular Harbor” is a beautiful, beautiful song. The idea for this song came to Buffett during his various trips through the tropics.

4.) “Breathe In, Breathe Out, Move On”
Songwriter: Buffett and Matt Betton
Album: Take the Weather with You
2006

A song about Hurricane Katrina and its aftermath, “Breathe In, Breathe Out, Move On” is both tragic and encouraging. The lyrics face the reality of a hurricane but also praise the resilience of the Gulf Coast.

3.) “West Nashville Grand Ballroom Gown”
Songwriter: Buffett
Album: Living and Dying in 3/4 Time
1974

What a great story song. This is some damn fine songwriting on display from Buffett here. While the story does speak for itself, I like to think that Buffett was also raging against the Nashville machine here after being completely looked over by the music industry.

2.) “Trying to Reason with Hurricane Season”
Songwriter: Buffett
Album: A1A
1974

“Trying to Reason with Hurricane Season” is something most people have felt after a night full of regrets or over-doing it. You don’t have to be at the beach to relate to the lyrics. It’s Buffett’s own “Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down.”

1.) “Come Monday”
Songwriter: Buffett
Album: Living and Dying in 3/4 Time
1974

It’s such a simple song, but “Come Monday” says so much. I’ll let this song speak for itself.

Then what to do with “A Pirate Looks at Forty.” It’s one of my all-time favorite Buffett songs, but I didn’t know quite where to put it on the list because I like it so much. It’s pretty autobiographical and appears on A1A.

Make sure to also check out “Death of an Unpopular Poet,” off of A White Sport Coat and a Pink Crustacean. It’s another song Bob Dylan cited as one of his favorites.

--

--