How I Was Paid $100 On Upwork For Nothing By A Famous Author!

He paid me on Upwork for free.

Komal
Short And Random Thoughts
2 min readNov 13, 2023

--

Yes! This is a real story. I wish I could tell you his name but I want to keep it private. He is one of the famous authors and wanted me to write some part of his new book.

We agreed on terms on Upwork and he liked my writing style and the story.

He was willing to pay $100 for that. And this was my first $100 on Upwork.

I was stunned then I searched his name on Google and it listed some of his best-selling books. Damn!

I was flying already!!!

Photo by Joshua Koblin on Unsplash

I hope that I could successfully fulfill his requirements and give him the best of what he needed

But it turned out that he expected a bit different story than what I wrote.

He wanted me to take that story in a way that he didn’t exactly address in the beginning, therefore, when I submitted my work, he wasn’t satisfied with the end part.

Even though I made several changes, he decided to no longer work with me just because he wanted a little different story.

The most important is that we couldn’t just change the story itself because it was a personal testimonial regarding a specific culture I grew up in.

I told him to cancel the contract and I don’t want the money because the work wasn’t completed but he was willing to pay anyway.

I was shocked because honestly, I didn’t want him to pay me since I didn’t want free money. I wanted to work and earn.

But he paid me anyway.

Well, I still wonder if he used my testimonial. Because you never know. Maybe he used it! I mean he paid me so he has the right to use it though it looked as if he was not going to use it.

But you never know!

Only God knows.

--

--

Komal
Short And Random Thoughts

A Computer Science student who has fallen in love with reading and writing. About me+ Business+Money making+Blogging.