Exquisite Corp.

Turi Sue
Short and Weird
Published in
2 min readJan 18, 2024

Gala Is About To Parse Herself

S.Turi/2024

Gala ticked all 3 boxes. Ten years working a cake-decorating assembly line required a life re-think. If it weren’t for moonlighting as a ventriloquist with Yula, she’d be a glazed cherry by now.

Gala’s only interview went smoothly. Yula continues her story from there:-

“I arrived for orientation and noticed pairs of shoes at the reception. A few had socked feet in them. I asked a one-eyed receptionist whether I should take my shoes off.

Orientation doesn’t require multi-tasking,’ she said, ‘just remove your shoes.’

Multi-tasking?

Sounded great, just the change I needed.

I was shown my desk by a charming Mike, minus a hand. He introduced me to my colleague ‘Dot’. Dot was a pair of pinstriped pants without feet. Mike must’ve noticed my surprise and said it was a normal part of multi-tasking.

I thought something was up. They kept saying the word ‘multi-tasking’.

S.Turi/2024

At 8.30 am sharp I was called to a board meeting. On the way there I passed a pair of feet in latex pumps. Could they be Dot’s?

An assortment of heads and suited legs were gathered around the conference table. A jeweled hand led the PowerPoint presentation and a sleeved arm pulled down a screen. The only whole persons were the boss and I — -”

Yula paused. A string snagged in her throat.

“The meeting was about increasing productivity: efficiency depends on multi>dex<te>rity. But I was too preoccupied matching heads up with arms and legs like a game of Exquisite Corpse. I began to think I wasn’t ready for this change.

What would happen to me after orientation? Should I hunt for Dot’s head? Does Dot know where her legs are? Was Mike tracking his missing hand?”

Gala made it through Day One, then planned to quit. But Yula, maybe not the best advisor, persuaded her otherwise.

Yula thoroughly gets the corporate culture. Photo Hamilton CEAT

--

--

Turi Sue
Short and Weird

I value originality: sacred respites from the mundane & conformity. Steward of weathered souls of shoes /https://www.instagram.com/su.turi_art/