SHORT AND WEIRD FICTION

Throw The Box in the Fire

The Box: Part 3

Robert Gowty
Short and Weird
Published in
2 min readAug 29, 2023

--

The imbler and the umbler. By the Author

Welcome to part three of The Box. To be less confused, start here if you haven’t already. Part One. Part Two.

I was now nine inches tall, an eighth of my usual height. Time was also going eight times slower.

I reached for my phone to check the time but it was gone. I was in this kaftan now.

A cake of soap appeared in the box. No. It’s growing, into a bed.

“Sleep. It will be a while before he’s awake.”

I fell into a deep sleep and had a dream that explained all the symbols on the kaftan.

I now knew what the imble umble was. What was the box afraid of?

It was a long winter’s night.

Clip. Clop. Clip. Clop. He’s coming down the stairs.

“What’s happening?” I asked, not being able to see outside the box.

“He’s making a phone call.”

“Hello? Put on Jeff. I want to speak to Jeff right now… What you mean? I pay for Amajon Super Duper, get fucking Jeff on the line right now… The problem? The delivery at 10 pm last night. Didn’t order it. Not paying. Ya got me out of bed… What you mean nothing in the system. Jeff now or I’m going to throw the…

--

--

Robert Gowty
Short and Weird

Idiot Saveloy. Tasmanian. Answering questions you never asked. Aficionado of the number seven.